Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 02-04-2020, 12:47 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 27R
State: Alabama
THOR #17652
Replacing factory installed door locks

I am very new to RVing and have read many articles that replacing the factory installed door lock is important. I have been researching options, but it is very confusing about determining which one will fit my 2020 Four Winds 27R. Any recommendations? Is this something I can do myself, or should I have my RV dealer or a locksmith install? Thanks in advance for the great suggestions!!

Old 02-04-2020, 04:36 PM   #2

Brand: Still Looking
State: Missouri
THOR #5437
I can not speak about your model, however when I had my ACE I had to replace the lock. Its easy to do if you find a need to do that. Remove the 4 screws from the inside and the rest will fall in place. I took my lock to CW as I needed a replacement while on the road. Anyway CW had a few different locks, I got one that would fit the hole in the door and the back set. Again easy to do.
Good luck
Old 02-04-2020, 04:44 PM   #3
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheltieTraveler View Post
I am very new to RVing and have read many articles that replacing the factory installed door lock is important. I have been researching options, but it is very confusing about determining which one will fit my 2020 Four Winds 27R. Any recommendations? Is this something I can do myself, or should I have my RV dealer or a locksmith install? Thanks in advance for the great suggestions!!
Other than the defective Trimark locks, did the articles say WHY it was important to replace the locks?
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote