RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2018, 08:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE
State: Louisiana
Posts: 5
THOR #5346
TVís turn off sporadically

Would love some advice from other Thor owners! Our 2014 ACE has had a problem with all the TVís just turning off sporadically and then coming back on. Weíve taken it to 3 different dealers and no one has been able to find the problem. Seems like it would be a breaker (theyíre all in the one slide) but so far no luck! Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
cducote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 09:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
Iím having the same problem. Canít find any pattern as to to when or why it happens.
__________________

__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 04:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 24FS
State: New Mexico
Posts: 105
THOR #12181
Is your refrigerator on the same circuit? Try putting the frig on propane only and see if it still does it. Maybe the surge of the refer compressor kicking in causes it. I would check to make sure the connection at the breaker(black wire) is tight. Do this with all power off and shore power disconnected.
__________________
2018 Chateau 24FS
sanjaun2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 07:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
If it is the refrig compressor what would be the fix?
__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 08:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 24FS
State: New Mexico
Posts: 105
THOR #12181
I would check for loose connections on the wiring for that circuit. starting with the breaker. It would be a good time to snug up all the the black wires on the circuit breakers and the white ones too. With all power disconnected of course.
__________________
2018 Chateau 24FS
sanjaun2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 08:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
Thanks will try to find time to give that a try.
__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 01:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Alabama
Posts: 119
THOR #12091
Question... Did they actually turn off or do the screens just go black like no signal? The only reason I ask this is because we were watching a DVD on a TV powered by the house batteries and then we turned the generator on for some reason and the TV lost signal. Same thing happened after we turned the generator off. Each time we had to power off the TV then power on again and it worked fine. Don't know if this is similar but just an observation I recently had while dry camping for our first time.
__________________
Dilley-Dilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 01:50 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
My TVs definitely go off. Have to take the remote and turn them back on.
__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 02:26 AM   #9
Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 34'bunkhouse
State: Georgia
Posts: 2,421
THOR #4735
sounds more like an ‘off’ remote signal is hitting them, not a power issue
__________________
the Turners
'14 Palazzo 33.3 bunkhouse 34' diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish HD, 100w/5a SOLAR, BlueOx
100,000+mi since '14 - US, Alaska, Canada - Northwest, GA! (also, '14 Gulfstream Amerilite and '07 ForestRiver Rockwood) : )
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 02:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
Each TV has a different ďoffĒ remote signal and all three go off at the same time. I donít think that is likely but thanks for the input
__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 03:20 PM   #11
Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
 
TurnerFam's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 33.3 34'bunkhouse
State: Georgia
Posts: 2,421
THOR #4735
I'm wondering if they are all on the same GFCI circuit... GFCI's can be very, sometimes overly, sensitive to any 'bump' in power.
__________________
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 03:21 PM   #12
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,149
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamJanTan View Post
Each TV has a different ďoffĒ remote signal and all three go off at the same time. I donít think that is likely but thanks for the input
They are probably all on the same circuit breaker. Verify this and if so troubleshoot power to this line as others have suggested.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 03:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
Yes circuit breaker would verify it they are on the same line then trying to sort through the maze of wires. Sounds like fun. Thanks for the input
__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 04:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 24FS
State: New Mexico
Posts: 105
THOR #12181
On my mh all the tv's are on the same circuit. This circuit is not gfci.
__________________
2018 Chateau 24FS
sanjaun2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 05:01 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 4,038
THOR #11130
New TV's are very sensitive to power lose. The least bit of drop and off she goes. Sounds like something is surging. Sanjuan's suggestion sounds like the easiest and quickest way to isolate and test. If this was the issue, maybe run a new line to the fridge on a separate breaker than the TV's. Does the Ace have an inverter? If so, do TV's also operate on inverter along with the fridge?
__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 11:57 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
OK so fridge an TVs are on the same circuit. This is how the outlet at the fridge is put together. Any suggestions?Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	88.9 KB
ID:	11930
__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 01:28 AM   #17
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamJanTan View Post
OK so fridge an TVs are on the same circuit. This is how the outlet at the fridge is put together. Any suggestions?Attachment 11930
Could easily be a 'poor connection' there... With all 110 power off (shore, genny, inverter) - see if any of those wires are loose after shaking and rattling down the road.
Does the TV's going off match the time of the fridge going on?
Try running an extension cord from another circuit to one of the TVs - and see if it stays on next time it happens.
I run our main TV with a UPS - handles the TV and PS4 when on board... But would immediately beep if a low voltage condition to let me know - but the TV would never know... Have it mainly for the PS4 which really doesn't like power interruptions of any kind... or maybe it is DW playing it that doesn't like them!!
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 01:53 AM   #18
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,021
THOR #1150
Here is another thought: Perhaps your TVs are connected to something else (the fridge it sounds like) through a Automatic Energy Select Switch.

The switch will provide power to both the TVs and the refer until there is a large current draw from the refer; then it cuts power to the TVs (I know about this because I found one installed in our Axis--not sure what two devices are connected to it; could very well be the Microwave and water heater as described in the link I provided above).

Just a thought.
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 02:04 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
I am a bit afraid of arcing across the bare wires. Anyone have any experience with this mess.Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	11931
__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 04:13 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Tennessee
Posts: 297
THOR #7227
Well reconnected power turned on TVs then refrig. So far no arcing or sparking so next camping trip may the problem be solved. Have disconnected power and will start again tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
JamJanTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×