RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2015, 01:47 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane
State: Indiana
Posts: 2
THOR #2158
Unusal Situation

I have a 2004 Hurricane and lately when I hook up to an electric outlet my microwave stop working if I have the frig on electric also. Any suggestions? if leave the frig on gas everything works well.
__________________

__________________
Hurricane 2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 02:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tytlfamily's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: Texas
Posts: 185
THOR #1599
Perhaps the Micro and Refridge are on a GFCI circuit? Look around the kitchen or bathroom area for an outlet that has 2 tiny buttons in the middle, see if it is popped?
__________________

__________________
Tytlfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 11:16 AM   #3
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,818
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurricane 2003 View Post
I have a 2004 Hurricane and lately when I hook up to an electric outlet my microwave stop working if I have the frig on electric also. Any suggestions? if leave the frig on gas everything works well.
Sounds like the micro and fridge are on the same breaker and if both are running it may be overloading that particular breaker. In my class C the same thing would happen if I plugged the coffee pot into one particular outlet and then turned on the microwave.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 04:09 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane
State: Indiana
Posts: 2
THOR #2158
Increase tension on slide out

I replaced the fabric on my living room slide out and i can't enough tension to smooth out the fabric.

any suggestions on how to adjust the tension?
__________________
Hurricane 2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 06:10 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 27k
State: Arkansas
Posts: 19
THOR #1759
Send a message via Skype™ to PEHetzer
Suspect a bad breaker

Hello,
As a power systems electrical engineer, I sometimes run across breakers that trip at current levels that are much lower then their labeled rating. I would do the two following tasks to assure that the electrical distribution system was working properly.
1. check the AC system voltage at the appliance. The voltage should not be less then 120v.
a. Check your generator output at the generator. If the voltage there is higher then what is measured at the appliance outlets then consider checking terminal tightness of all wiring connections located within your 120v breaker/fuse panel.
b. If plugged into a "hotel" service then check the voltage at the "hotel" outlet and assure that the voltage is not low. If it is low, then there may be several problems that need to be investigated and you'll need assistance from a good electrician.
2. If all the connections are tight, then try turning the breaker for ther appliance circuit off, then on several times (10 or more). then is the only maintenance that can be performed with a breaker. If you still have problems then plan on having the breaker replaced.

3. It is important to keep in mind that low AC voltage will result in higher ampere loads. Sometime when an electrical circuit is feeding a large load, the lower voltage will cause the load amperes to increase beyond the breaker rating resulting in a trip.
4. You should have a voltmeter that can read both AC and DC power, and check continuity. There are times when nothing else will do.

Hope this helps....
PEHetzer
__________________
PEHetzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: California
Posts: 524
THOR #937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurricane 2003 View Post
I replaced the fabric on my living room slide out and i can't enough tension to smooth out the fabric.

any suggestions on how to adjust the tension?

Trim the new fabric.
__________________
Beacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: California
Posts: 524
THOR #937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurricane 2003 View Post
I have a 2004 Hurricane and lately when I hook up to an electric outlet my microwave stop working if I have the frig on electric also. Any suggestions? if leave the frig on gas everything works well.
Is your motorhome connected to 50Amp, 30Amp, or a household 20Amp shorepower? Or are you running the generator when this occurs?

When I use my handy dandy 20Amp to 50Amp adapter pigtale, everything works, one at a time.

When I use my handy dandy 30Amp to 50Amp adapter pigtale, everything works, but sometimes something stops working. Just like your description.

When I'm connected to 50Amp shorepower, or running the genny, everything works all at the same time, (if desired).
__________________
Beacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 01:34 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 27k
State: Arkansas
Posts: 19
THOR #1759
Send a message via Skype™ to PEHetzer
Circuit sizes.

Keep in mind that a 20 ampere shore power panel utilizes smaller conductors which can result in a higher voltage drop then what would be experienced with a 50 ampere service panel. At best a 20 ampere circuit should not see more then 15 amperes of load, while a 30 ampere circuit should see no more then 24 amperes. A 50 ampere circuit should have no problems with a 40 ampere load. These loads are engineered to prevent severe voltage drops.
Also, the distance between the "hotel" service outlet and the main service panel can have an effect too. My RV required a 30 ampere service panel, which I fed using a AWG#6 sized cable. The 30 ampere outlet is located aproximately 150 feet from my service panel, so I slightly oversized the conductors. As a result, I can run everything from my "hotel" service without problems along with an air compressor to checl tire pressure.
As any circuit load increases, the circuits voltage will drop resulting in increased amperes. As more load is added voltage critical components may stop working or the increased load may trip a circuit breaker. Eliminating the voltage drop is key!
__________________
PEHetzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 10:45 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Tennessee
Posts: 10
THOR #3154
My GFCI receptacle (in half bath) in my Thor 2015 Miramar 34.1 keeps tripping any suggestion on what I should check? There are a total of 4 receptacles on this circuit & sometimes it trips if I just have a night lite turned on. I'm getting ~121.4 to 122 amps at each receptacle.
__________________
tbglassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 10:53 PM   #10
Site Team
 
Brand: Crossroads
Model: CF32BL
State: Mississippi
Posts: 1,003
THOR #121
It could be a bad GFI. check under the slides, and see it there is a electrical junction box there pull the cover and see if there is water there some are not sealed properly
__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2008 CrossRoads CF32Bl pushing a 2007 Dodge 2500
Traveling with Hoover, Rainbow and Sunshine
The wonder Schnauzers
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 10:59 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Tennessee
Posts: 10
THOR #3154
I replaced the GFI a couple of weeks ago - but I guess it might be bad? The one that was installed originally keep tripping but I had my coach plugged in to 20 amp service only so I'm not sure it was bad either. Now I have it plugged into a 50 amp service which is standard for my coach.
__________________
tbglassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 11:01 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Tennessee
Posts: 10
THOR #3154
I will check under the slides tomorrow of a junction box. Thanks
__________________
tbglassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 05:23 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Yosemitebob's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 33SW, Diesel
State: Washington
Posts: 347
THOR #3195
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbglassman View Post
My GFCI receptacle (in half bath) in my Thor 2015 Miramar 34.1 keeps tripping any suggestion on what I should check? There are a total of 4 receptacles on this circuit & sometimes it trips if I just have a night lite turned on. I'm getting ~121.4 to 122 amps at each receptacle.
I really hope you are not getting anything close to 121 amps I'm sure you mean volts
__________________

__________________
Yosemitebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×