RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2020, 05:36 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE
State: Tennessee
Posts: 3
THOR #17828
Using the propane mode for my refrigerator on my ACE

When I am not connected to electricity and place my refrigerator into the propane mode, a red light appears and the refrigerator does not appear to cool.

Is there a valve somewhere (other than the propane tank) that needs to be turned on for this to work?

Thanks in advance for your guidance.
Rowdy
__________________

__________________
RowdyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 05:49 AM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,168
THOR #1150
In that mode when you're outside can you hear it? (Typically, when its quiet outside, you can hear the flame)

Does your gas range work?

The only valve would be the one on the tank.
__________________

__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 10:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,263
THOR #15553
Main switch ON. Gas switch ON. No lights will be on it it lights. If it does not light a CHECK light will come on. If you turn OFF the gas switch, it will seek out electric power. The auto light will be lit. Gas switch must be ON to run on GAS. It will not AUTO switch. Auto means it is looking for Electric.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 11:59 AM   #4
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,724
THOR #8860
My Outlaw used to be a bit reluctant to fire up on propane. You could hear the clicking as it tried to start, and then a red light would come on...
We lit it manually a few times, and then traded it in...
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 01:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 674
THOR #4656
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Main switch ON. Gas switch ON. No lights will be on it it lights. If it does not light a CHECK light will come on. If you turn OFF the gas switch, it will seek out electric power. The auto light will be lit. Gas switch must be ON to run on GAS. It will not AUTO switch. Auto means it is looking for Electric.
Too confusing. Simply stated, run it in auto mode. When you don't have electric it will switch to gas on it's own and back to electric when electric is available.

Try lighting a burner on the stove for a moment or two. That should insure a good gas supply is available.
__________________
Making a smooth transition to senility for over 70 years

2017 Freedom Elite 29fe
2015 Jeep Wrangler Toad
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 01:06 PM   #6
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,724
THOR #8860
Good idea: fire up the propane stovetop for a few minutes to make sure that the lines are, "propane-ified".
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 01:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,263
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosticks View Post
Too confusing. Simply stated, run it in auto mode. When you don't have electric it will switch to gas on it's own and back to electric when electric is available.

Try lighting a burner on the stove for a moment or two. That should insure a good gas supply is available.
Not that simple. the gas switch must be ON to switch to gas. Auto and gas on is the way to go. It will run on electric until the electric is removed then switch to gas IF the gas switch is on.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 02:54 PM   #8
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,361
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Not that simple. the gas switch must be ON to switch to gas. Auto and gas on is the way to go. It will run on electric until the electric is removed then switch to gas IF the gas switch is on.
Actually, it IS that simple. There is no "gas switch". There is a single, 3 position switch: AUTO - OFF - GAS. Placing this switch is GAS makes it run on gas all the time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Norcold Fridge.png
Views:	71
Size:	165.1 KB
ID:	25437  
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 04:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,263
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
Actually, it IS that simple. There is no "gas switch". There is a single, 3 position switch: AUTO - OFF - GAS. Placing this switch is GAS makes it run on gas all the time.
I have 2 switches single pole switches. ON and GAS.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 04:47 PM   #10
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,724
THOR #8860
If that's the case: I would guess that the "on" setting would be "auto"...
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 04:48 PM   #11
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,361
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
I have 2 switches single pole switches. ON and GAS.
What model Norcold fridge in what model ACE MH?
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 05:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
dkoldman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Sunstar 29VE Winnebago
State: Texas
Posts: 911
THOR #13058
For OP, your model is not clear but on my unit, if the red light is on solid RED (not flashing) then you have a fault code condition.

I have Norcold N7x and on my model, if I see RED as you are; it means that the "Fridge tried to start on the selected energy source and failed" Of course you know it failed on propane.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Norcold Error Code.JPG
Views:	63
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	25440

So the corrective action or possible solutions.
  1. Try the manual mode if in auto.
  2. Try the auto mode if in manual.
  3. Check for empty LP tank.
  4. Check AC / DC converter
  5. Check Gas Shutoff valve to ensure it is open
  6. Check propane gas is at correct pressure
  7. Check that there is no air in propane gas line

FWIW, before I bought this rig I heard all kinds of bad press about propane refrigerators not getting cold, having to start them up the day before travel etc. For a while I was stuck on Thor's ACE because a few came with Residential Refrigerators. Thor stopped putting the Residential Fridges in the ACE 29.3 and now I know why. I love this Norcold N7x. It gets very cold very fast. We keep in Auto mode until we stop to get gas. Then we shut it off completely. Few times we forgot to turn it back on after getting gas , but did not notice until we got to where we were going and everything was still cold.
__________________
2019 Sunstar 29VE w/Magellan Tent
Safe T Plus EC-30 AGS
Nighthawk X4 AC2200 WiFi EX7300; H/W Heater & Chassis Disconnect Switches; Southwire Surge Guard 44270
dkoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 05:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 1,148
THOR #13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
Actually, it IS that simple. There is no "gas switch". There is a single, 3 position switch: AUTO - OFF - GAS. Placing this switch is GAS makes it run on gas all the time.
My Norcold is on the 1200 watt Inverter/outlet line.
So when Iím BoonDocking with the inverter on, I need to turn it to Gas (only).
Otherwise Iíll drain the batteries (although I do have solar).

Also, my light flashes orange when Gas isnít lit properly.
Attached Images
 
__________________
'17 Vegas 24.1
Fallbrook, CA
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 07:13 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 1,178
THOR #11781
When I have had problems with my fridge not wanting to go to gas operation, it has always been a propane flow issue. Running the furnace and a burner on the stove for a couple of minutes has almost always fixed it. A couple of times it was spider nests around and in the combustion area in the back of the unit.
__________________
Lt Keefer
2018 Hurricane 29M
CHF, Saf-T-Plus, SumoSprings
Lt Keefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 07:24 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,263
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
If that's the case: I would guess that the "on" setting would be "auto"...
It is.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 10:25 PM   #16
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,168
THOR #1150
Note that the OP never replied....
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 01:13 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,010
THOR #6826
My Norcold N8XRT has a very strange problem. Itíll only light when the temp control is set to the coldest position when starting with a warm fridge. After itís cold it runs fine on gas. Hasnít been too much of a problem because it seems to be very consistent. If I start it the day before a trip itíll be like -7 in the freezer and 20 in the main cabinet by morning. Wish I could think of something to testa donít Iím concerned that one of these days it wonít light at all.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 05:55 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
dkoldman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Sunstar 29VE Winnebago
State: Texas
Posts: 911
THOR #13058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete'sMH View Post
My Norcold N8XRT has a very strange problem. Itíll only light when the temp control is set to the coldest position when starting with a warm fridge. After itís cold it runs fine on gas. Hasnít been too much of a problem because it seems to be very consistent. If I start it the day before a trip itíll be like -7 in the freezer and 20 in the main cabinet by morning. Wish I could think of something to testa donít Iím concerned that one of these days it wonít light at all.

You may have issue with control board?

If you look at post #12, we keep our Norcold on setting #3 of 3 of 5 stars on thermometer. When the freezer is frozen; well basically you have all of the cold you need.

When we get ready to leave, we start the AC's and turn on the both refrigerators to get everything cool down. Takes us about an hour to pack.

When we do leave we turn both AC's off and main fridge goes to gas while outdoor kitchen fridge runs off inverter.

When we stop we start the generator so both AC's can run. I always have ice cold beer when ever we get where we are going or an extended stop.
__________________
2019 Sunstar 29VE w/Magellan Tent
Safe T Plus EC-30 AGS
Nighthawk X4 AC2200 WiFi EX7300; H/W Heater & Chassis Disconnect Switches; Southwire Surge Guard 44270
dkoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 07:27 PM   #19
Member
 
Brand: Dutchmen
State: Michigan
Posts: 41
THOR #2904
Show a picture of your refrigerator control panel. For most, auto will work for electric and gas, when you don't have one it automatically switches to the other. I have had 8 units over the years and they all worked that way. The other thing is do you have 12 volt, it won't work without it in either mode.
__________________
capeharj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 07:33 PM   #20
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,724
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post
Note that the OP never replied....
Perhaps we overwhelmed him with our helpfulness?
__________________

__________________
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×