Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-04-2014, 12:38 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37GT
State: Delaware
THOR #803
2014 Thor Challenger37GT- propane

I am a newbie. We just got our coach last week. Our coach has a hose refrigerator and we are plugged in.

Simple question - do I leave the propane valve open or can I close it?

Old 06-04-2014, 01:11 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Model: 2011 Four Winds 28Z
State: Michigan
THOR #531
Not sure what you mean by a hose refrigerator... but most fridges are dual powered - 120VAC and LP (and also 12VDC for the control circuit).

There is no ill effect by shutting the gas off to the fridge, other than it won't run. If the switch is in Auto for example, and if 120VAC is present, the fridge will run on electricity.

But if you disconnect 120VAC, when in Auto position, it will attempt to use gas.

But, if you don't turn the gas on, you will simply get an error (blinking LED, etc) on the fridge that gas is not present.

Otherwise, no ill effect.
Old 06-04-2014, 04:21 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Brand: Crossroads
Model: Zinger ZT26BL
State: North Carolina
THOR #91
I think it was a typo, I think he meant house fridge. If your fridge will run on either propane or electric, set it to auto. We leave propane on so the battery and propane will kick in and keep the fridge cold in case of power failure.
anaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 04:25 AM   #4

Model: Four Winds Siesta 24SA
State: South Carolina
THOR #762
I too believe he meant house refrigerator. If so, it only runs on AC so yes it is OK to shut off the propane.
Harry
Old 06-04-2014, 06:52 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus

THOR #531