RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2020, 03:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Virginia
Posts: 29
THOR #19723
Where did you install your Inverter?

I bought an 1100 Watt Inverter, not one that I can tie in to power the entire system but a stand alone unit. If you installed a similar type of inverter where did you put it? For reference I have a Class C The biggest reason I bought it is to make a pot of coffee and possibly run the Laptop or TV/DVD while traveling without using the generator. My Kitchen is on a slide and the house battery is opposite it under the steps. I can't figure out where it would be easy to access, easy to wire and still be out of the way.

Thanks for your thoughts and any helpful pics!

Larry
__________________

__________________
RVHopeful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 11:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
Posts: 140
THOR #20289
I can't help you with a specific location, but I can give you some criteria.

An 1,100 watt inverter will draw as much as 100 amps DC. That is much more than your DC fuse panel can handle, so you need to wire it directly to the batteries with a 100A fuse or breaker near the battery. You also need to minimize the distance to the batteries. A location 10' away will require #4 wire to keep the voltage drop down to about 1/2 volt.

David
__________________

__________________
DavidEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 01:03 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Virginia
Posts: 29
THOR #19723
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidEM View Post
I can't help you with a specific location, but I can give you some criteria.

An 1,100 watt inverter will draw as much as 100 amps DC. That is much more than your DC fuse panel can handle, so you need to wire it directly to the batteries with a 100A fuse or breaker near the battery. You also need to minimize the distance to the batteries. A location 10' away will require #4 wire to keep the voltage drop down to about 1/2 volt.

David
David, Thanks it came with about 3 foot sections of #4 wire, fortunately most logical spots are really close to the battery. The Red wire came with a an ANL fuse already installed, I will need to check the amperage rating on that. For my education I assume when you say it can draw 100amps how is that determined? I'm trying to understand what situation would make that occur?
Thanks for the advice!
Larry
__________________
RVHopeful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 01:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 31L
State: Florida
Posts: 1,989
THOR #908
I can't help with your floor plan...not familiar
I've been thinking about this though in mine for a long time.
I've settled on two options that I think pretty much make sense for probably every rig.
assuming it's a hardwire inverter where you'd plug your coffee pot into an outlet and not directly into the inverter itself....

1) install the inverter near the battery and run a dedicated outlet to your desired coffee pot location
2) tap into the battery leads at the house battery disconnect relay (the thing that goes 'clunk' when you press the use/store switch to turn off the house). In my rig at least and likely in most, this is very near the converter box, where you could relocate the circuit with the coffee outlet from it's existing breaker to the inverter.

I've planned to do this for years but have always just found a way to make it work when I don't have shore power....so the project keeps slipping down the priority list. Ended up getting a french press to use for that purpose, and use my keurig for when I have shore power or don't mind running the genny.
__________________
blw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 01:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
Posts: 140
THOR #20289
Larry:

Ok a 1100 watt inverter will supply 110V at up to 10 amps AC (watts/volts equals amps). Let's ignore efficiency for now so watts output in AC is the same as watts input as DC. Divide 1100 by 12 V and you get 92 amps DC input to the inverter. Efficiency losses will raise that to about 100 amps DC.

So if you can mount the inverter within 4' of the batteries with #4 wire, you will be great.

Wiring the AC side may be the bigger challenge. Does your inverter have an internal AC transfer switch?

David
__________________
DavidEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 02:46 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Virginia
Posts: 29
THOR #19723
David, I have the type of inverter that has outlets and USB on the inverter not one that I can tie into the system. I assume if I use it with the engine running I don't necessarily need to worry about depleting the house battery. But that I can also use while boondocking with the Engine and Generator off at least up to the capacity of the House battery. Since I have to plug into the Inverter I am trying ot figure out the logical place to mount it..
__________________
RVHopeful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 03:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
Posts: 140
THOR #20289
OK, I understand. You have an inverter with outlets on it that you plan to plug stuff into.

So you have two objectives in locating it: minimize DC voltage drop and wire size as well as put it in a convenient location where you can get to it to plug in. Since wire is relatively cheap, put it where you think will work best and if it takes bigger gauge wire to keep the voltage drop reasonable, then so be it.

David
__________________
DavidEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 04:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
LandKO's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Arkansas
Posts: 276
THOR #12827
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVHopeful View Post
David, I have the type of inverter that has outlets and USB on the inverter not one that I can tie into the system. I assume if I use it with the engine running I don't necessarily need to worry about depleting the house battery. But that I can also use while boondocking with the Engine and Generator off at least up to the capacity of the House battery. Since I have to plug into the Inverter I am trying ot figure out the logical place to mount it..
On a 30FE, the only location I can think of anywhere close to within 4ft of the house battery is under the aft dinette bench. If you mount it so your outlets are accessible through the inboard base of the bench, they would be accessible in the aisle. You’d have to cut a fairly large hole for the inverter outlet face to be useable.
__________________
2018 Freedom Elite30FE
Current toad - 2019 GMC Canyon 4WD
Former toad - 2004 Jeep Liberty
LandKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 04:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ducksface's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
Posts: 2,483
THOR #13932
I don't know your layout but I've installed plenty of inverters in plenty of offroad vehicles.
A plastic ammo can at harborfreight.com mounted UNDER THE FLOOR will not take up any room inside the coach, be perfectly waterproof and very very easily accessed.
There's lots of unutilized room under that coach.
Place a switch and a dedicated plug wherever you want those inside your coach.
There is no need to ever access the inverter except to replace it if it blows out.

Also:
A coffee machine might not let an inverter run on just one battery.
Start the coach or install an additional battery.

And
Go bigger on the inverter.
'right sizing' an inverter means buying one at least twice as big as you think you'll need.

And
at 12v output, you can drop a LOT of volts and still run everything made in America to run on 110/120v.
While wire size is important and you should go bigger if possible, don't fret a few feet or even double the length over what is said to be needed.
And
That four feet of wire included is a nicety only. Don't limit yourself to that length because it was thrown into the kit.
__________________
Below is a link to most of my modifications either accomplished or pending.
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...n-18996-3.html

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 11:33 PM   #10
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Daybreak 22GOC
State: Kansas
Posts: 52
THOR #18675
I installed a stand alone 1500/3000W inverter behind a cabinet under the refrigerator. The DC supply cables are approx. 8 ft long each. Whereever you install it, be sure to use large enough cable on the DC supply side. I used "00" gage fine strand welding cable.
JC
__________________

__________________
JimC
"Never promise more than you can give. Always give more than you promise."
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×