Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class C and Super C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2021, 02:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Ohio
Posts: 10
THOR #21273
Coach Power Issues

We have a 2017 29 Freedom Elite and are having issues with power to the coach. When we hookup to shore power and run the generator everything works great, however, we do not have power in the coach without either of these sources. I have read different threads on this topic and the only conclusion I can come to is a problem with the inverter. Any help that can be provided will be appreciated.

__________________
Thelma2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 03:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 35.3
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 211
THOR #20808
The converter takes 120VAC and converts to 12VDC.... this is only powered when either shore or generator is on. All lights are on the 12VDC.
However, when neither is on the power for the 12VDC comes from the house batteries. Check to see the conditions of the battery, and whether or not the house breaker (located somewhere near the batteries) has tripped or not. Small black box where the battery cables go to, if you see a yellow flag sticking out it is tripped.
Reset it if it is.
There can also be a fuse on the 12VDC line.... typically a small box on the battery cable right on the terminal.
__________________
pneumatics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 03:25 PM   #3
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 14,356
THOR #7035
Define "power".

You have two different electrical systems in an RV:

1 - 120 VAC just like your house that is only available if you are on SP, or have the generator running. Some RVs may have an inverter to supply 120 VAC to select outlets from battery power; mostly just the TVs and a residential fridge if so equipped.

2 - 12 VDC to power lights, furnace, control power for the thermostat, A/C, water heater, propane fridge. Can be supplied by the House battery bank or the Converter/Charger if on SP or generator running. This is also the source of power for an Inverter if you have one and larger MHs with larger inverters may also have battery charging capability built in. In that case you would not have a Converter/Charger.


So what is your question again?
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad - Selling
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 04:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Popfla's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: S.O.B.
State: Florida
Posts: 684
THOR #14543
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by pneumatics View Post
Check to see the conditions of the battery, and whether or not the house breaker (located somewhere near the batteries) has tripped or not. Small black box where the battery cables go to, if you see a yellow flag sticking out it is tripped.
Reset it if it is.
There can also be a fuse on the 12VDC line.... typically a small box on the battery cable right on the terminal.
Looks like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2020-09-16.png
Views:	53
Size:	358.3 KB
ID:	29007  
__________________
Ed
Some Other Brand w/2020 Jeep Gladiator Toad
Living The Dream in "God's Waiting Room"
Popfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 06:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 4,160
THOR #12751
As stated... we need more information to diagnos whether you have an AC voltage problem, DC problem problem or actually no problem!
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 12:38 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Ohio
Posts: 10
THOR #21273
A little clarification for my previous question about coach power. We can not operate anything in the coach (lights, appliances, charging stations etc..) without being plugged into shore power or turning on the generator. When we first purchased we could operate parts of the coach based on flipping the switch marked use/store.

I hope this clears up my question(s) and I appreciate the feedback thus far.
__________________
Thelma2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 01:01 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,422
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelma2017 View Post
A little clarification for my previous question about coach power. We can not operate anything in the coach (lights, appliances, charging stations etc..) without being plugged into shore power or turning on the generator. When we first purchased we could operate parts of the coach based on flipping the switch marked use/store.

I hope this clears up my question(s) and I appreciate the feedback thus far.
It still works that way. However, you must have a fully charged battery supply to Battery Disconnect must be IN USE.Don't use this switch unless you are In Storage.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 01:54 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Ohio
Posts: 10
THOR #21273
We had a fully charged battery this weekend and the switch place to “use” and did not have power
__________________
Thelma2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 02:26 AM   #9
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 14,356
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelma2017 View Post
We had a fully charged battery this weekend and the switch place to “use” and did not have power
How do you know the house battery bank was fully charged? Did you measure it with a voltmeter at the batteries?

Or if you relied on the "Battery Status" indication on the control and display panel and you had SP connected or generator running that indicator will NOT give you your battery status as the converter voltage overrides that.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad - Selling
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2021, 09:51 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Ohio
Posts: 10
THOR #21273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popfla View Post
Looks like this:
Would I find this inside the coach or outside of near the battery cables?
__________________
Thelma2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2021, 10:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
MJC62's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E. 27.2
State: Indiana
Posts: 1,882
THOR #14698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelma2017 View Post
Would I find this inside the coach or outside of near the battery cables?
Usually in the coach battery compartment or somewhere close by
__________________
2018 ACE 27.2
Toad 2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
Roadmaster Falcon All Terrain Towbar
Roadmaster Invisibrake
MJC62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 07:43 PM   #12
Cpd
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Hampshire
Posts: 156
THOR #14097
We nor an rv repair man could ever find that mysterious " black box"
__________________
Cpd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 09:36 PM   #13
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 14,356
THOR #7035
See post #9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpd View Post
We nor an rv repair man could ever find that mysterious " black box"
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad - Selling
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 10:20 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alaska
Posts: 6
THOR #19666
Coach Power reset

I had the very same problem and after two exhaustive days following dozens of threads, I finally found the reset button. I found it inside the compartment behind the circuit breaker box located in the bedroom. Once you removed the circuit breaker box, look for those two elec. cables on the left side. You can't see where the reset button at so run your finger through those cables until it attaches to a terminal on the left wall. That little reset button is mounted on that terminal. Run through with your fingers and you will feel it. I hope this helps.
__________________
Peacabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 10:59 PM   #15
Cpd
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New Hampshire
Posts: 156
THOR #14097
Thanks. We actually have tried there, the engine as suggested, near the batteries....laid on the ground looking everywhere for it. Never found it. We'll be at Thor in May. Hopefully they can find it.
__________________
Cpd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2021, 12:49 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Ohio
Posts: 10
THOR #21273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peacabo View Post
I had the very same problem and after two exhaustive days following dozens of threads, I finally found the reset button. I found it inside the compartment behind the circuit breaker box located in the bedroom. Once you removed the circuit breaker box, look for those two elec. cables on the left side. You can't see where the reset button at so run your finger through those cables until it attaches to a terminal on the left wall. That little reset button is mounted on that terminal. Run through with your fingers and you will feel it. I hope this helps.
We have a 29 Freedom Elite, do you have the same model? Is this a standard place to find the reset button?
__________________
Thelma2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2021, 06:34 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alaska
Posts: 6
THOR #19666
Coach Power reset

Hi! Ours is a 2014 model but I'm not sure if Freedom Elites have the same locations for its coach power reset considering Thor's notoriety as far as locations for these reset buttons. It's worth a try to go to this location if you encounter power failure next time.
__________________
Peacabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2021, 10:45 PM   #18
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger
State: New York
Posts: 41
THOR #9265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popfla View Post
Looks like this:
That's interesting, on our 2014 Thor Challenger, the reset button you pictured is located behind the Chassis battery and it's ONLY purpose is to power the Lippert leveling jacks... nothing else.
__________________
jgwmjw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2021, 09:04 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 23U
State: Ontario
Posts: 15
THOR #10180
12V Relay Switch

Regarding lack of 12V in Class C I had a similar problem on my 2017 Four Winds 23U. I had lights on shore power and generator but no power when I was not connected or running generator. After checking several of the resets I found I had a bad relay switch made by Intellitec. When I used the storage switch I would hear the solenoid clunk but still no power... The relay switch had failed and I was not getting any power pass it for 12V. A simple check with a volt meter confirmed the problem. I called Thor Technical and they were very helpful once I had tracked the problem down.
__________________
mgironwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2021, 08:22 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
jjoster56's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 27B
State: Maryland
Posts: 29
THOR #20189
OK. 2019 Windsport. I have read too many posts today on battery life and charging... my head is spinning. So, please help me understand what I thought I read.... If I plug into shore power and the red light comes on for the battery disconnect, I still may not be charging my batteries? Because the switch is actually still off? Even though the red light is on? And everything else in the RV is working?

Meaning I should always be on batteries (switch "on") BEFORE I connect to shore power? Leaving a light on when I get to camp to be sure as I hook up?

Also meaning that the red light is useless????

Help!
__________________
jjoster56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2