Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class C and Super C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login

Old 12-05-2021, 03:03 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Delano 24FB
State: Nevada
THOR #25401
Thor Delano - dead chassis battery?

Hey everyone, newbie here...

Bought a new to me 2021 Delano 24fb. Stored outside, no battery tender (no power to plug in).

Solar keeps the coach batteries with enough juice, so I was able to turn on control panel and it said chassis battery was at 0.1v.

Went to go see if it was dead, and saw the battery warning light on the dash before hitting the start button. Surprisingly, it started right up and on the Mercedes dash info, it read 14.4v I think, which I believe is normal for a battery when engine is on.

As far as I know, the previous owner made no mods to batteries or anything (it was brought home and never used).

So my question is...am I missing something, or not understanding something here? It seems as if the battery isn't charged, and I read the sprinter has a parasitic drain on the chassis battery, yet it starts up normally?

I want to take it out on a short trip for our 1st time, but want to feel somewhat comfortable with this battery situation. Any input is appreciated [emoji106]

Mike

Old 12-05-2021, 03:21 AM   #2

Model: Aria 3401
State: Washington
THOR #22245
If it started the alternator most likely put a charge on it. Did you try it again and see the volts on the chassis battery? Maybe go to an AutoZone and have them check. I know nothing about your RV: ours will use the house batteries to start if chassis is too low but have to push a toggle.
Retired US Navy Corpsman HMC(SW)(FMF)
HMCSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 03:24 AM   #3

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Sunstar 29VE Winnebago
State: Texas
THOR #13058