Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class B & B+ Motorhomes
Click Here to Login

Old 03-15-2022, 07:29 AM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
State: Arizona
THOR #26238
High power draw in Cahaba with nothing running except fridge

Hi - I'm new to the RV world and I was looking at a Tiffin Cahaba over the weekend but am confused by the idle power draw shown by the Volta system.

I was trying to estimate a best-case time until recharge is necessary if I only ran the fridge, so I had everything turned off except the fridge, including the inverter. The van was outside under a clear blue sky in the middle of the day so the solar panels should be providing something over 200 W (I think that's conservative - they're rated for 300 W). A fridge the size of the one in the Cahaba shouldn't draw more than 100 W, probably more like 80 W.

However, the Volta system showed a net power draw of 250 - 350 W.

Given that the solar panels were probably producing at least 200 W that means total power draw in the van was something like 500 W.

Assuming the fridge is pulling 100W, what the heck is pulling the other 400 W? And can I turn it off?

One other possibility is that the solar panels aren't working, but still, what the heck is pulling the other 100+ W?

Another possibility is that the fridge is *extremely* inefficient and is, in fact, pulling 400 W. But I seriously doubt that.

Anyone have any ideas of what's going on?

Thanks,

rgames

Old 03-15-2022, 12:54 PM   #2

State: Alabama
THOR #22773
My understanding is that the solar panels charge the batteries and does not run any component directly. Therefore the draw you are seeing is directly from the items within the RV.