Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class B & B+ Motorhomes
Click Here to Login

Old 08-09-2022, 07:42 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Arkansas
THOR #27634
"Underhood generator" and maintenance.

I have a 2023 Thor Tellaro with the standard equipped "underhood generator" along with the 200 amp hour system.

I'm a complete novice so...

According to Thor you just run the engine when you would normally use a generator and that provides power. Now, unless I am mistaken, a generator uses a "hour" scale to determine when you would need to perform maintenance on your generator and a gasoline engine uses the miles indicator to determine when you would perform maintenance.

When the van is running and you're not moving nothing is "measuring" anything how do you know when to do an oil change??

I haven't found anything in the literature saying anything other than perform maintenance according to the guide that came with the ProMaster chassis.

I also contacted Thor directly and they insisted that I do it according to the maintenance schedule that is indicated in the owners manual which is in miles.

My stupid tiny brain tells me that when the engine is running its breaking down the oil regardless of whether the wheels are turning so the oil changes need to adjust accordingly but nothing tells you how to do that.

Am I wrong? Is this something I don't have to worry about?

Old 08-09-2022, 08:35 PM   #2

Model: Axis 25.6
State: Wisconsin
THOR #25594
I don’t have a Promaster but the 2022 Promaster owner’s manual on page 56 shows a “Engine Oil Change Message” will display. It further has it’s “Duty Cycle Based”.

Also on one of the “Driver Assist” screens is “Service Information”.

Both these have “If Equipped” so they might be based on trim level.