Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class B & B+ Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-18-2022, 12:28 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
THOR #27065
Water System Sanitizing

I'm a newbie here in the RV world, and need some assistance with sanitizing my fresh water tank. I understand the process, and I know that you need to open the water heater bypass valve. That's the issue - it is very hard to determine where that valve is. The manual does not indicate the location and the manufacturers manual directs you back to the owners manual!
I own a 2022 THOR Sequence 20L. I have located the TRUMA heater (under bench)
but I am just not positive on which valve to open (bypass) and close (hot/cold).
Any help is appreciated!

Also, where is the drain plug to the water heater?

Old 06-18-2022, 11:10 AM   #2

Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
THOR #12751
So I have a Magnitude with a Girard Tankless water heater. The Truma should be very similar to the Girard and any tankless water heater.

First, there is no drain plug because it is tankless. It heats the water on demand by allowing water to run through copper tubing in a heat exchanger inside the unit.

Second, there should not be a Bypass Valve for a tankless water heater..... that is assuming that Thor plumbed it properly and did not install one. Schematics always show a Bypass valve but Bypass valves should never be installed for a tankless system.