Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2023, 12:30 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Rhode Island
THOR #11834
Gps

I’ve been using RV Life Trip Wizard for a couple of years, and have been somewhat satisfied with the results, but not lately. I use it for a safe RV route, and once I have a route set up, I select allow route changes before beginning my trip. I have been traveling for three days, with three different stops. Twice I missed a turn along the way and I was instructed to make a u-turn. Neither was safe to do, and in both cases further down the road were shopping plazas that were easy to navigate.

Today I was told to go down a road that ended up being a dead end. I had to disconnect my tow dolly, turn the RV around, then reattach tow dolly and car. Loosing close to an hour of time.

Is there something more reliable to use as a GPS for an RV safe route, or are they all somewhat the same?

Old 02-23-2023, 01:58 AM   #2
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
Use the search feature. There are many, many posts and threads related to RV GPS systems.
Old 02-23-2023, 03:15 AM   #3

Model: Forest River Forester 235
State: Indiana
THOR #6826
Any GPS can do that sometimes. My wonderful Garmin RV890 did it to me once. Best is to check your route with a second source and my preference is a good old fashioned paper map. Not turn by turn as you drive but a comparison prior to departure.
Old 02-23-2023, 10:44 AM   #4

Model: Quantum JM31
State: Tennessee
THOR #21926
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichRob View Post