Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Thor Motorhome General Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 05-19-2024, 11:56 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
THOR #32624
Spare tire for Thor freedom elite 29 fe

I am new to the Thor and to this forum. I was looking at a thread on this subject, but it was from 2016, and itís now 2024. We donít have a spare for our RV. We have a road side assistance, but if the tire needs to be changed, we need to have a spare. The earlier thread was talking about the cost of the wheel and the tire. It was also recommending getting them from amazon. What is the best thing to do? Get an entire spare with both wheel and tire? Or just one or the other? I would think tire would be most logical. But I can also imagine wheel getting damage. Iím not mechanical, my husband is, but heís not computer literate. So bear with me. I assume they would go in a cargo hold which take up a lot of space. How do I find out what size to get? Look at the size on the existing tire? Are all 4 the same size? Or rely on the Thor manual for specs.

Old 05-20-2024, 12:11 AM   #2
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469
Welcome to the forum.

Best you can determine the best approach you need to determine how you are going to use the Motorhome and how far you plan to travel.

I have over 30k miles on our current rig and no spare tire or wheel. In a class c we had a number of years ago we had a factory supplied spare without jack. That spare was never needed.

Bottom line, personal preference.
Old 05-20-2024, 12:14 AM   #3
It's 'towed', not toad.

Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
THOR #13932
Go to big o or discount tire.
Tell them you want to buy a spare and a wheel.