Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Thor Motorhome General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-05-2020, 11:35 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Colorado
THOR #2442
Will adding an inverter decrease value??

Hi
I am contemplating modifying one of the electrical circuits (the one with the TV's on it). To come from either an inverter, or external AC. (by a switch).
I am an electrical engineer with 40 years of experience, so other than the crawling on my back problem it is not hard or complex. I would make documents of the wiring changes, and label the electrical plugs, and give location and capacity of the inverter.

The question is, if it wasn't "professionally done" will it be a detriment when it comes to selling?? I.E. will a the buyer (e.g. Camping World) see it as a risk and detriment rather than a reward.
I'd appreciate help from anyone who has experience with this.
Thanks much
D

Old 08-05-2020, 11:49 PM   #2

State: Washington
THOR #6433
I really don’t think so unless it was obviously not done correctly. Just like anything most people are either going to like it or hate. But I would imagine most buyers would prefer to have all that already added to the coach and not have the expense of adding it after you buy it
Old 08-06-2020, 12:13 AM   #3

Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidspixx View Post
Hi
I am contemplating modifying one of the electrical circuits (the one with the TV's on it). To come from either an inverter, or external AC. (by a switch).