Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Thor Motorhome General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-16-2022, 07:24 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34J
State: New Jersey
THOR #28504
Winter living

Hey everyone I’m looking to “not” winterize my Thor Hurricane 34J and continue using it through the winter. I see a lot on winterizing but not much on winter camping. I have the RV up in New Jersey outside my shop fully hooked up when not using. That being said I am not a novice and I’ve already been advised that these coaches are not designed for winter use. Although for almost the price of a house you’d think they should all have winter packages as standard not just as an option on the big diesel pushers! Anyway, I’m just looking to see what creative people like yourselves have come up with besides “ drive it to Florida where it’s warm and you don’t have to winterize it!” Lol
Any advise or experience is much appreciated
Thanks

Old 11-16-2022, 08:07 PM   #2

Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
THOR #20289
I don't know your coach specifically, but these are the things I would do to use it throughout the winter in NJ where the overnight temps can get down to single digits:

1. Install a skirt, either made of painter's drop cloth and taped to the sides hanging down or for much more $$ install specially made inflatable skirts by Airskirts. If the former hook up a portable heater on low underneath to keep it above freezing.

2. Alternatively install heating pads on your grey and black water tanks as well as heat tape on the lines to the dump valves to keep them from freezing up. The skirt has the advantage of lowering inside heat losses though.