Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Industry Towables - Travel Trailers & Fifth Wheels > General Discussion - Thor Travel Trailers & Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 07-21-2021, 03:39 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Gemini tw
State: Alberta
THOR #17351
Furnace making strange noises.

My Dometic furnace in my Gemini is making low inconsistent rumbling noises when burning. I finally convinced the dealership service dept. there is an issue, but they haven’t come up with a solution yet. Has anyone else had this noise?

Old 07-22-2021, 02:24 PM   #2

Model: Miramar 32.2
State: Texas
THOR #14520
I’m not an expert, but have them remove the actual burner tip and clean off the inside and outside of it. They tend to rust over time. We had something similar and that helped although it didn’t entirely go away.
Old 07-22-2021, 02:53 PM   #3

THOR #17351
Furnace noises

Ok thanks, they had the furnace on the bench testing it, said everything was normal, but when we parked a new identical Gemini beside mine we heard no growling on the new one like what mine was doing. It’s not loud but annoying in the wee hours of the morning when all is quiet.
Old 07-22-2021, 03:36 PM   #4

Model: 2011 FW Hurricane 33T
State: England
THOR #16471
On our propane fired water heater, with shifting breezes it will have the flame "make noise". All normal in my book.
Old 07-22-2021, 07:49 PM   #5

THOR #17351
Ok, but this furnace does it sitting in my shop. The service people said the flame is a nice blue, and the pressures are where they should be. Kind of puzzling and annoying. Just checking to see if anyone else has this problem with either the dometic or suburban furnaces.
Old 07-22-2021, 08:44 PM   #6

THOR #16471