Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Travel | Camping Spots | Roads and Routes
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-15-2020, 11:10 PM   #21

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Rhode Island
THOR #11834
I use an app for truckers called Trucker Path. I sign-in as if I am a trucker, and get information on where to buy gas, rest stops, service plazas. Using it I find places along my route that are easy to get in and out with a motorhome.

Old 02-15-2020, 11:47 PM   #22
vkb

Model: Axis 24.1 KC's Big Box
State: Kansas
THOR #3510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newf026 View Post
I have driven a 28 ft Class C for years and got pretty good at getting in and out of gas stations without running people or pumps over.

But we just traded up to to a 37 ft Class A (gas) and its a bit intimidating driving when the spaces get tight.

Or is there some better way?

Thanks
HI...your question has brought many helpful tips and answers...
Ron is the pilot and I am the navigator....
we, in May of last year, added a Jeep to the length of our 25' Axis..
I depend on GOOGLE MAPS on my iPad, as well as our Garmin RVT..
However...with GOOGLE MAPS Satellite view...I checkout gas stations ahead of time. In doing so, we find pumps which have plenty of room and an easy exit.
So far, it has worked for us....however, I am going to look up the apps that some have mentioned....

Good luck ! and we wish you happy camping in your new rig.

Kay
Jeep Wrangler TJ
vkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 01:49 AM   #23
TMD

Model: Synergy Class C
State: Texas
THOR #16695
Join RV Village. They have a way to get a card through a national trucking company that saves you 70 cents to 90 cents a gallon on each fill up. This works well. You can also go to your Walmart gas station and get an account to save.