Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 10-14-2021, 04:37 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Michigan
THOR #20974
Tires on Outlaw 37MD

Disclaimer: I am new to the Outlaw and about to embark on a 6 months trip, my first full-time experience.

This is for a 2015 Outlaw 37MD

The outside rear tires have some small cracks in the sidewall - nothing deep, just sun damage. Still, replacement appears to be advisable. So, a few questions:

1. What tires do you guys use? Michelin vs Goodyear? Assume I will be close to max loaded at some point of the journey, with full fuel, water, an ATV in the garage...

2. Do I need to have all the tires on the rear the same, even though the inner tires turn out to be ok? What about the front axle? Do they need to match as well?

3. Does anyone carry a spare tire in the Outlaw? Where? Under the carriage mounts? Guess I could put it in the back of the toad.

4. If one does not carry a spare (as I see in many other posts here), what happens once road assistance shows up? Tow me to the nearest town with a tire center? Could be quite a distance out West. Also, what if the tire center does not have the same brand/size tire - see question #2 above.

Thanks in advance for your guidance.

Alex B

2015 37MD / 2014 Jeep Wrangler JK

Old 10-14-2021, 09:24 AM   #2

Model: 2016 Thor Outlaw 29H
State: Tennessee
THOR #13869
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexB View Post
1. What tires do you guys use? Michelin vs Goodyear? Assume I will be close to max loaded at some point of the journey, with full fuel, water, an ATV in the garage...

2. Do I need to have all the tires on the rear the same, even though the inner tires turn out to be ok? What about the front axle? Do they need to match as well?