Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2021, 08:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 4
THOR #22482
2016 Ace 30.1 Inverter?

Is it possible to run the house tvís while not using shore power or generator? If so do I need to swap out my converter for an inverter?

__________________
Troy G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 01:06 AM   #2
Member
 
AxialFlux's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.1
State: West Virginia
Posts: 74
THOR #21234
In my 2013 Ace 30.1, the main TV runs off of 12v (battery), but I am not sure about the bedroom TV.
__________________
-------
If every porkchop were perfect, we wouldn't have hotdogs!
2013 Thor ACE 30.1
AxialFlux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 01:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
Posts: 1,274
THOR #2631
My original 2013 ACE 30.1 TVs were both DC only, and while they worked; they were both junk (main was Jensen and Bedroom was Skyworth branded). The Jensen TV weighed a ton.....mileage probably went up when I replaced that one. I replaced both DC TVs with HDTV LG and Samsung AC units. So if you want to run your AC only TVís while boon docking an inverter will be required (preferably a pure sine wave inverter). The converter should remain to charge batteries and help power DC loads when on SP or Gen. You may be able to retrofit a converter/inverter combo unit, but it just complicates the electrical installation changes with physical limitation issues etc.
__________________
javelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 02:02 PM   #4
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 6,433
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy G View Post
Is it possible to run the house tvís while not using shore power or generator? If so do I need to swap out my converter for an inverter?
It is possible to run the TVs on an inverter. You do not need to replace the converter, just add an inverter.

It is best to get an inverter with an Automatic Transfer Switch on the 120 VAC output so it automatically supplies power to the TV circuit either from SP/Generator when available, or from the inverter when not.

In my ACE, all the TVs were run off the same circuit (same breaker in the power center).

I just installed a 1000 watt inverter in my ACE to un the TVs and a couple of outlets on the same circuit for entertainment and Internet/Network equipment.

Here's a SIMPLIFIED installation schematic:


Here's a good choice of Inverter:

https://www.amazon.com/AIMS-POWER-PW...dp/B074CHSXBD/
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace 30.1, inverters

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2