Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-15-2021, 12:59 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1 - Ford E-350
State: Florida
THOR #14429
240 volts fried my converter?

I'm a novice at electricity. Had an electrician put in a 30amp outlet at the house. He didn't know and fed 240 volts to that outlet. I plugged in (and forgot to first plug in my EMS).
No power to RV. I then remembered to plug in my EMS which told me about the over limit voltage at 240v. I disconnected from that outlet but it was too late...damage was done.
The 15amp breaker on the RV panel that is for the Converter was tripped. I reset but still no power.
Checked all fuses in the RV panel...all good.
Checked the breaker near batteries...not tripped. I manually tripped and reset it anyways.
Still no power.
Did i just fry my converter when i plugged into 240 volts?

Old 09-15-2021, 01:07 AM   #2

Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
THOR #13932
My 24.1 has
TWO
of those flag type breakers near the batteries.
Mine are mounted so the one I can see
HIDES
the other.

Look again near the batteries.

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 01:10 AM   #3

Model: 2016 Thor Outlaw 29H
State: Tennessee
THOR #13869
More than likely yes.
Then check the convection oven, it may be gone too.
And definitely the (off gas) on shore power refrigerator heater.

Ask me how I know...
Old 09-15-2021, 01:37 AM   #4

Model: Chateau 24F
State: Ohio
THOR #16721
Ouch!!

An electrician upgraded a house we used to own to 200amp service. It was old wiring, and the neutrals weren't bright white.
His helper accidentally wired several neutrals to breakers instead of the neutral bus.