Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2022, 12:11 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
AC voltage

I have 120 volts coming to transfer switch then tagged along to breaker panel.
With shore power everything works as it should i get full electrical outlets , tv, microwave.
But when i run the generator i do not get any of the AC stuff? Only the 12 volt lights.
New transfer box and have full 120 volts at transfer box from generator?

__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 12:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2011 FW Hurricane 33T
State: England
Posts: 1,159
THOR #16471
Quote:
Originally Posted by jg727 View Post
I have 120 volts coming to transfer switch then tagged along to breaker panel.
With shore power everything works as it should i get full electrical outlets , tv, microwave.
But when i run the generator i do not get any of the AC stuff? Only the 12 volt lights.
New transfer box and have full 120 volts at transfer box from generator?
But is the transfer switch operating... what Make/Model?
EDIT: Maybe picture? - be careful!
__________________
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 03:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3901
State: Idaho
Posts: 676
THOR #9660
Check the breaker on the generator itself.
__________________
Vicki and Mike, Aria 3901- The Wined Up Bus, towing 16 Jeep JKUR.
m1noel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 03:53 AM   #4
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 12,751
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jg727 View Post
I have 120 volts coming to transfer switch then tagged along to breaker panel.
With shore power everything works as it should i get full electrical outlets , tv, microwave.
But when i run the generator i do not get any of the AC stuff? Only the 12 volt lights.
New transfer box and have full 120 volts at transfer box from generator?
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1noel View Post
Check the breaker on the generator itself.
Can't be the generator breaker if he has 120 VAC from the generator at the Transfer Switch.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 04:18 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2011 FW Hurricane 33T
State: England
Posts: 1,159
THOR #16471
Quote:
Originally Posted by jg727 View Post
I have 120 volts coming to transfer switch then tagged along to breaker panel.
With shore power everything works as it should i get full electrical outlets , tv, microwave.
But when i run the generator i do not get any of the AC stuff? Only the 12 volt lights.
New transfer box and have full 120 volts at transfer box from generator?
I get confused when it is posed as a question...
__________________
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 01:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Tuscany 42GX
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,128
THOR #9178
So, have you checked the voltage at the transfer switch going out? You said you have 120v in?

Per what you have posted so far, the transfer switch isn't engaging

Your first post indicated you were running on the inverter/converter
__________________
lwmcguir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 01:31 PM   #7
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 22,195
THOR #8860
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/at...1&d=1645968616

If you have power coming into int, and nothing coming out...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	What He Said....jpg
Views:	52
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	36316  
__________________
"What: me worry?"
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 02:45 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
AC

Thor Vegas 24.1
The shore power is flowing through transfer switch and works with breaker.
It is a brand new transfer switch, buti will check to see if i hear/see it engage and test voltage out. .
__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 03:16 PM   #9
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 12,751
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jg727 View Post
Thor Vegas 24.1
The shore power is flowing through transfer switch and works with breaker.
It is a brand new transfer switch, buti will check to see if i hear/see it engage and test voltage out. .
You already said it works with SP.

When the generator supplies power to the ATS it engages a timing circuit that will electronically switch the relay to the generator as the source after a set delay (20 to 30 seconds) and keep it in that position until the generator power goes away, then it returns to the default (SP) position.

It's possible you have an defective ATS.
It's possible the ATS was wired wrong.

Other than that information I'm not sure what other help the forum can provide until you investigate the problem further.

Why is it a new ATS? Did you have the same symptoms with the old ATS?
Is there more to the story?
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 09:45 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
120 vac from generator
But i am not getting the minimum 90 volts after it is tied to ATS to engage the relay.
The ATS resister is a 94volt on circuit board.
I only get 70+ after i connect the wiring so it is not activating relay.
But if i supply it with direct 120 volt AC from plug from inside my house then i get the full 110 circuit and it engages the relay. And i have 110+ at the relay so after 20 seconds it engages with 110 to panel panel wires.
Weird that the panel is actually 30 amp single pole as the ATS says should be double pole. But it is not like the generator did not work before.
Very weird to get voltage drop from generator but not from direct vac. I am stumped for the moment.
I was thinking the regulator on the generator but i think i am overthinking?
__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 10:36 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
Snd yes i ordered new switch when i saw the relay was not engaging. Thought it was bad relay did not do voltage test except generator coming in!
__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 11:07 PM   #12
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 12,751
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jg727 View Post
120 vac from generator
But i am not getting the minimum 90 volts after it is tied to ATS to engage the relay.
The ATS resister is a 94volt on circuit board.
I only get 70+ after i connect the wiring so it is not activating relay.
But if i supply it with direct 120 volt AC from plug from inside my house then i get the full 110 circuit and it engages the relay. And i have 110+ at the relay so after 20 seconds it engages with 110 to panel panel wires.
Weird that the panel is actually 30 amp single pole as the ATS says should be double pole. But it is not like the generator did not work before.
Very weird to get voltage drop from generator but not from direct vac. I am stumped for the moment.
I was thinking the regulator on the generator but i think i am overthinking?
Your ATS should be 3 pole double throw. The HOT, NEUTRAL and GROUND from both SP as well as the generator should be passed to the breaker box.
You should read 120 VAC from the generator hot lead to either the ground or the neutral from the generator. You should read 0 VAC from the generator ground to neutral and with the generator off you should read 0 ohms from the generator ground to neutral.

Have you tripped and reset the generator breaker? If you truly have proper voltage output at ther generator breaker but not at the generator leads at the ATS you have a wiring problem. Some coaches employ a junction box between the generator output and the ATS input: I don't know if the 24.1 is one of those coaches.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2022, 12:39 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
Thank you.
Full VAC from generator with good grounds at ATS. I unhooked the panel for easier testing. I am testing off the leads. The transfer switch jumps over to panel box and there is no breaker for generator just a main breaker on the panel 30amp. Plus AC, Microwave, appliances, gfi, and converter breakers ; everything else is fused. The ATS with shore power generates to the panel through the ATS no problems. Breakers are good. When i goto the generator lead i have full 120 VAC in, but where it connects to relay it drops down to 70 volts which is not enough voltage to throw the relay to push the generator over to the panel. I do not think it is the braided lead connection to solid #10. But j cannot explain the drop in voltage. Using the same lead from a home ac outlet braided to braided wire i do not get a drop. Maybe i will try to connect it direct to the terminal. ?
__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2022, 01:26 AM   #14
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 12,751
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jg727 View Post
Thank you.
Full VAC from generator with good grounds at ATS. I unhooked the panel for easier testing. I am testing off the leads. The transfer switch jumps over to panel box and there is no breaker for generator just a main breaker on the panel 30amp. Plus AC, Microwave, appliances, gfi, and converter breakers ; everything else is fused. The ATS with shore power generates to the panel through the ATS no problems. Breakers are good. When i goto the generator lead i have full 120 VAC in, but where it connects to relay it drops down to 70 volts which is not enough voltage to throw the relay to push the generator over to the panel. I do not think it is the braided lead connection to solid #10. But j cannot explain the drop in voltage. Using the same lead from a home ac outlet braided to braided wire i do not get a drop. Maybe i will try to connect it direct to the terminal. ?
The generator breaker is on the generator. Find it, trip it, reset it. It may be making good enough connection to measure full voltage with a voltmeter but as soon as the smallest load is placed on it the high resistance connection drops the voltage drastically.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2022, 03:40 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
THANK YOU! Will reset in am and advise.
__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2022, 11:28 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
Generator voltage drop

I was hoping that resetting the fuse at generator would solve the issue. Unfortunately sane problem. Fuse when switched off stops all current as it should. When reset i get same voltage drop the minute i connect it to ATS.
__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2022, 01:22 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 2,294
THOR #6903
So what is the voltage supplied to the ATS?

That is key since you have the drop across it

Did the generator breaker appear to be in good condition and flip "normally" ?
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2022, 02:11 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 16
THOR #9897
120 to ATS then drop to 70.
Breaker seems ok when in off position it cut off voltage to ATS.
The drop to70 volts after tying to ATS is where the answer has to be.
Any help appreciated.
__________________
jg727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2022, 04:05 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 2,294
THOR #6903
Quote:
Originally Posted by jg727 View Post
120 to ATS then drop to 70.
Breaker seems ok when in off position it cut off voltage to ATS.
The drop to70 volts after tying to ATS is where the answer has to be.
Any help appreciated.
Have you checked this with all your house breakers off, plus inverter/charger panel

Everything off and you get the drop then you have a bad ATS
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2022, 04:35 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 11
THOR #20939
It is a NEW ATS if that helps, but I can check if I still get the drop when all breakers off. Thank you.
I have bought new stuff that does not work...but when I test the ATS with a hard line...it works fine.
__________________
jgvegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, transfer switch, voltage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2