Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 05-25-2019, 09:35 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3901
State: Idaho
THOR #9660
Aria dash air not working

Our dash AC is inop. The compressor does not start, no power to low pressure switch. Gauges show good pressure, so I believe it has to be electrical. Cannot find fuse or relay or dash wiring diagram to I can trace power at/from switch. Any Ideas?
Mike

Old 05-26-2019, 01:58 PM   #2

Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
THOR #2631
So I am not an AC expert by any stretch and I don’t know your Diesel coach systems either, but sometimes dated information for various RV systems stays “relatively similar” over the years.....or at least can provide some basic clues to what your dash AC controls “might also” do.
The compressor clutch control pressure switch monitors both for high and low pressure conditions I believe.....so if you are in the normal range for your system pressure that is good. You say there is no voltage on the wire from the dash controls calling for the AC clutch to operate.......so I wonder if there is some other safety device like an ambient air temp sensor in series with the pressure sensor to prevent the clutch from operating with too low a temp outside. Since it is certainly warm enough outside now, perhaps the temp sensor (if equipped) has failed open? The other source of the clutch control voltage should be the dash AC/temp controls I would think; and of course fusing of some kind. I don’t know the fusing for your coach so I don’t know if there is one fuse for the clutch or not. If the blower motor works then maybe checking for voltage on the AC; MAX AC control switch on the dash would be a next step?