Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 03-17-2021, 01:50 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: PD31 Quantum
State: Pennsylvania
THOR #22546
Question Battery Cable help (see pictures)

I am new to RVs. I took my house batteries out over the winter, checked the fluid, kept them charged once a month. But I didn't take a picture of the cables.

I thought if I stuck to red and black and the post size, I couldn't get it wrong but now I am having a problem.

When all my cables were hooked up, I started the engine to move the RV and after about 30 seconds there was clicking and I shut off the RV.

I did some troubleshooting one cable at a time and I have it narrowed down to the one cable that causes the problem. Two pictures attached. But now I am unsure of myself and I don't want to stick it on black just because that is the other choice. It got dark and I won't be able to trace the cables under the RV until this weekend. Any help on what I am doing wrong or should be looking for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Thor Quantum PD31 Battery Cable Diagram.jpg
Views:	1122
Size:	199.7 KB
ID:	29151   Click image for larger version

Name:	Thor Quantum PD31 Battery Cable help.jpg
Views:	10220
Size:	250.2 KB
ID:	29152  

Old 03-17-2021, 02:06 AM   #2

Model: Damon Daybreak
State: New Mexico
THOR #19133
When you touch the suspect cable to the positive lead, is there a big spark?
If not, then it's probably connected correctly. When you say clicking, where is it coming from? How quickly does it click? Do the items that run off 12VDC work inside the coach?
Old 03-17-2021, 03:02 AM   #3

Model: Hurricane 29M
State: Texas
THOR #11781