Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2021, 03:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 25
THOR #14426
Cable tv hookup advise needed

I have a 2019 Thor class c with an external coax hook up for the tvs. I am trying to get the tv's to recognize the cable. I have turned off the antenna booster and am feeding the rv from a comcast cable box. When I run the set-up on the tv and do the channel scan the tv only finds one channel, number 03. I tried change the channel on the set with no luck and also changing the channel with the comcast remote controlling the box with no success.


I know the comcast box works and that the coax cable to the rv is good.


Any suggestions? Thanks

__________________
Paradox998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 03:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 2,729
THOR #12751
Just throwing this out there.....

You did change the Tv from Air to Cable before doing the scan, correct? Besides turning off the antenna, you need to switch the TV input from Air to Cable.

If that's not your issue, you need to trace your cable lines or look at your schematics and find the splitter and make sure everything is connnected and securely tightened.
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 03:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 1,963
THOR #13362
If you have Seiki’s Or Axera TVs without a built-in QAM tuner, you will not be able to get digital cable.
That may be your problem
And is why many on this Forum have swapped-out for smart TVs which gave a QAM tuner.
__________________
'17 Vegas 24.1
Fallbrook, CA
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 04:20 PM   #4
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 6,438
THOR #1469
Doing a channel scan using a set top box is useless and a waste of time. Channel scan are for when using the antenna.

Comcast requires the tv in cable mode if using coax or on an hdmi source when connected via hdmi. The TV must also be on channel 3 or 4.

If you are using a Comcast expansion box (2nd digital) and not the main box you will not get anything if the two boxes are not within range of each other or on the same cable system.
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2