Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-11-2019, 01:05 PM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
State: Florida
THOR #14170
Dead 2018 Thor Quantum

Newbie here...thanks for allowing me in the group!!

Went out to start my Thor Quantum 2018, RS26 and nothing..... chassis battery seems dead... unplugged from shore power, everything is dead.....checked breakers, nothing tripped... about a month and a half ago I found the propane leak detector alarming... reset it and went on about my business....
not sure what to do ... cannot jump start it or use emergency start.... something seems to have tripped?? Power converter??
NEED HELP!!! We were planning a camping trip for my birthday next weekend so...

Old 01-11-2019, 01:52 PM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 ACE 30.1
State: Alberta
THOR #2631
Well welcome to the forum. I am not familiar with your coach specifics but the first thing to resolve is if your use/store switch is in the on position? In most coaches this switch (or 2 switches in my coach) closes a latching relay(s) to connect the coach (and in some coaches like mine, the chassis battery) to the DC loads (lights, fans etc) and converter (charger). Also note that when on shore power it is important to also have the use/store switch in the "on" position to ensure the converter (battery charger) output is connected to the batteries for charging.

Do you have a multimeter (set to DC volts) that you can actually check the batteries with to see if they are actually discharged? 12.6 vdc is typically full charge for wet cell batteries.
Old 01-11-2019, 02:54 PM   #3

Model: Palazzo 36.1
State: North Carolina
THOR #13712