Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 03-24-2023, 03:06 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 35.2
State: Florida
THOR #28437
Driving in mountains

Have a 17' Thor Miramar 35.2. I am a novice and looking for advice on going up and down hills/mountains. I am pulling a Ford Escape. While going up do I keep the cruise control on? Do I drop to a lower gear on steep inclines.
What about going down hill, same questions.
Thanks!

Old 03-24-2023, 03:28 AM   #2

Model: Aria 3401
State: Washington
THOR #22245
Quote:
Originally Posted by gofishbass View Post
Have a 17' Thor Miramar 35.2. I am a novice and looking for advice on going up and down hills/mountains. I am pulling a Ford Escape. While going up do I keep the cruise control on? Do I drop to a lower gear on steep inclines.
Thanks!
not 100% as i have diesel but your rig looks like 3,900 rpm for max torque and HP having your rv close to that as you are starting the climb that is where you want to be. With diesel we downshift prior to the load to make sure we are at the top of the torque curve. If we loose momentum all is lost.
Retired US Navy Corpsman HMC(SW)(FMF)
HMCSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 03:29 AM   #3

Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
THOR #13932
Seat time and experiment.
No one can tell you so it fits you.
Do the speed limit and pullover for traffic every chance you can.
Try all ways until you find your right way.
There is no standard way.

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 03:59 AM   #4

THOR #6433