Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 08-28-2018, 02:22 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: chateau 29G
State: South Carolina
THOR #12638
dually tire valve access

Hope this is the right place for this question.. just bought a 2018 thor 29g and i want to install tire minder sensors on each wheel..the rear dually valve stems are on such an angle in the rim that a 6inch extension would require cutting some of the slots to allow the valves to come thru the simulator.everyone says to avoid the braided valve extension systems and its obvious why. I have been a mechanic and a machinist for over 40 years..i have never seen anything so damned stupid in my life !! How the hell do they expect someone to maintain rear wheel pressures when you cant reach the valve !! Being a m/c rider i know how just a few lbs of air pressure can change how a harley roadking holds the road, an 8 ton r/v should be easy to adjust rear tire pressure.. how do you folks monitor air pressure in your dually rear wheels?? My r/v dealer gave me some crap about how they all come this way.. really ?? $100g for a camper and thats the answer i get??i am surprised the EPA lets them get away with this crap..

Old 08-28-2018, 02:39 AM   #2
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
THOR #7035
Not everyone says "to avoid the braided valve extension systems" and in fact they were the most used solution the last time this question was asked.
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 12:59 PM   #3

Model: Forest River Forester 235
State: Indiana
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightstar57 View Post