Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2017, 04:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
bigben's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Kentucky
Posts: 1,032
THOR #1020
Furnace won't light - simple fix

We have 2015 Thor Challenger with an Atwood furnace AFMD 35141. We spend very little time where temps drop into the 30s. Most times we use the electric fireplace and a small electric heater. Always keeps the cabin temp in the upper 60s to lower 70s without a problem. But on the occasion that we get caught in freezing temps, a functioning furnace is a must to keep the basement (water lines and tanks) from freezing up.

Looked all over the forums and found lots of info. Preparing to pull the furnace, I started taking pics of the wiring to make reinstalling easier. Of course the LED light was giving me the 3 and 3 blinks - telling me I had an Ignition Lockout Fault. So I was tracing the wiring and pull the red wire in the diagram below to shut off the power. What do I find but a RESET/OFF switch!! Nothing mentioned about anywhere else. Well after I pulled the wiring and reset the LED light, then reattaching the red wire, I turned the switch to off and turned the thermostat to a high temp. Nothing. Turned the switch to RESET - BINGO, BANGO, BONGO. Furnace started right up.

Wow - what a simple deal. I had followed all the instruction about turning the gas off, turning the furnace on, letting the blower run and trying to light...etc. Nothing.

Hit the hard RESET switch - fixed.

Just some info for the rest of you.

Note: I apologize that I don't have a better pic of the switch but I'd put it all back together before I remembered to post this. But the attached annotated pic should suffice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AtwoodResetSwitch.jpg
Views:	626
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	7580  

__________________
US Army Retired - Loving The Road Trip
Challenger 37TB
bigben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 700
THOR #4656
Knew about the switch. It's in the install manual among the wiring schematic. You can also accomplish a reset by pulling the fuse at the panel and reinserting it, which in my case was easier than opening up the furnace.
__________________
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bigben's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Kentucky
Posts: 1,032
THOR #1020
After spending several hours on line looking for info, as I said - I found the switch. Found nothing in any of the literature about an electrical reset other than the info that I sited. Hopefully this more direct info will save others lost time and/or $s to accomplish.
__________________
US Army Retired - Loving The Road Trip
Challenger 37TB
bigben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 700
THOR #4656
http://www.americanrvcompany.com/ass...m-Furnaces.pdf

Page 8 left hand side.
__________________
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 06:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
bigben's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Kentucky
Posts: 1,032
THOR #1020
Yep - I saw that. My furnace was getting gas, igniter was sparking but not lighting. Look further in the manual and fund instructions for reset. There is no reference in troubleshooting the 3-3 fault for resetting that switch just the process I referenced. In any case, just trying to make the RESET switch location clear. Thanks for the references.
__________________
US Army Retired - Loving The Road Trip
Challenger 37TB
bigben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 12:46 PM   #6
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 22,089
THOR #8860
It's a good thing that this thread was rejuvenated at this time of year.
Folks are starting to try their furnaces out, and somebody will need this info!

Thanks!
__________________
"What: me worry?"
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 02:03 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 14
THOR #10207
Furnace reset

Where is this reset button located?
__________________
g8r80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 02:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 700
THOR #4656
Quote:
Originally Posted by g8r80 View Post
Where is this reset button located?
If you would just read the previous posts, it wouldn't be a mystery.
__________________
Making a smooth transition to senility for over 70 years

2017 Freedom Elite 29fe
2015 Jeep Wrangler Toad
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 04:48 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 14
THOR #10207
Furnace Reset

Not really. Do I have to pull the furnace to get to it?
__________________
g8r80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 05:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 2,085
THOR #13362
Not sure abt the Miramar/Challenger, but on my Vegas you need to remove the outside cover.
Then once inside the furnace cavity, you will see a switch or button

Let us know what you find

BTW...if you do a search on this website or even Google, you are likely to find photos, diagrams and videos of your particular furnace.
__________________
'17 Vegas 24.1
Fallbrook, CA
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 06:47 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 700
THOR #4656
G8r80,

My apologies, the link I listed several posts above shows exactly where the reset is located. I went back and pulled it up only to find it has been hijacked by some rv rental outfit.

So to answer your question. Go outside the rv and locate the panel surrounding the heater exhaust. There are 6 or 8 screws there. Remove them and the cover. The reset button is about where your left hand would be. It's small but it's there.
__________________
Making a smooth transition to senility for over 70 years

2017 Freedom Elite 29fe
2015 Jeep Wrangler Toad
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 07:34 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 14
THOR #10207
Well the blind pig found the acorn but unfortunately reset didn't fix the problem. it sounds like gas is not flowing to the igniter. I'll keep trying. Thanks for your help.
__________________
g8r80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 07:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 2,085
THOR #13362
I guess I missed it
Whatís your furnace issue?
- do you hear the igniter clicking ?
- does the flame ignite, come on briefly, and then go off?
__________________
'17 Vegas 24.1
Fallbrook, CA
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 07:47 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 14
THOR #10207
Blower is working. I hear igniter clicking. It does sound like flame ignites, stays on very briefly and goes out. Then it repeats the process.
__________________
g8r80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 12:14 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 14
THOR #10207
Bringing this thread to a close. Thanks for all the advice. My problem was a bad control board. RV is only 3 years old. Thor quality control strikes again.
__________________
g8r80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 12:23 AM   #16
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 9,721
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by g8r80 View Post
Bringing this thread to a close. Thanks for all the advice. My problem was a bad control board. RV is only 3 years old. Thor quality control strikes again.
How do you come to that conclusion since Thor did not make the control board or even the furnace? Atwood has a history of failing control boards.

However, if Thor incorrectly installed the furnace which caused the board failure then you would indeed, be correct.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 01:52 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Winnebago Travato 59G
State: Alabama
Posts: 4,510
THOR #6826
Hope you bought a good Dinosaur board instead of just another crappy Chinese OE one.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2