Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2021, 02:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 4
THOR #23565
GFI Outlet

Is it possible for the GFI outlet to have power and not allow the other outlets to work?

__________________
Tinkyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 02:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scubawise's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Vegas 25.6
State: Montana
Posts: 1,186
THOR #20220
you can use a muiti meter to test your outlets..my gfci in rv and home always work unless a wire came loose
__________________
Montana Thor Vegas 25.6
Wife and I & 2 Golden Retrievers Happy Campers!!
tandem biking, hiking, tennis, scuba,fishing,skiing
Retired H.S. Principal, National Life & Health Insurance Agent
"Today is a Gift and Why it is called the Present"
Scubawise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 02:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: '17-Vegas 24.1
State: California
Posts: 1,599
THOR #13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinkyjoe View Post
Is it possible for the GFI outlet to have power and not allow the other outlets to work?
You did not tell us what model RV you have and whether the outlets you are speaking of are on the GFI line or Regular Outlet line.

On mine, I have two outlet circuits.
The GFI outlets and the Regular Outlets are each on their own circuits, and have their own breaker switch.
Go to your Breaker Box to identify what you have.

If your regular outlet line has no power, it could be that your regular outlet line needs a breaker reset.


Also, if your RV has an inverter...
- Thor generally wires the inverter into the non-GFI outlet line
- You inverter has it's own internal breaker that might need a reset
__________________
'17 Vegas 24.1
Fallbrook, CA
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 02:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
waynetaylor55's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 28A
State: California
Posts: 140
THOR #21941
I have the schematic PDF from THOR and on the 120 volt page it shows that there are four GFCI receptacles (the reset receptacle is on the outside) and the rest are on the regular circuit. Check your schematic to see which ones are on the GFCI circuit.
__________________
Wayne & Elissa
2021 THOR Four Winds 28A
Fallbrook, CA

Watchdog hardwired EMS
waynetaylor55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 03:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 2,110
THOR #12751
The short answer is "no"......

If a GFCI circuit is wired properly, the GFCI outlet (with Test and Reset buttons) and every outlet on that circuit should not have power if the GFCI trips. If the GFCI outlet is working properly, it should be dead when tripped as well as all of the outlets wired to that circuit.

On my Magnitude, there is only a single GFCI outlet (with the Test and Reset buttons) located in the bathroom. Then there are 6 other outlets that are near water sources connected to the GFCI circuit controlled by the bathroom outlet (including an outdoor outlet on the side of the coach and an outlet near the sink of the outdoor kitchen).

Thor was kind enough to put a "GFCI" label on each outlet that is part of the GFCI circuit.

If your physical GFCI outlet has power when tripped, it is defective. You can test it and the other outlets on that circuit by pressting the "Test" button on the GFCI outlet.

If your GFCI outlet has power but other outlets that are supposed to be wired to the GFCI circuit do not have power when you trip the GFCI outlet, that circuit is likely wired incorrectly.

Here is a simple diagram of how it should be wired. The GFCI outlet needs to be acting like a "switch" for the outlets on that circuit. When the GFCI trips, all outlets should be dead.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	4
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	30783  
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 03:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Travelin' Texans's Avatar
 
Brand: Redwood
State: Texas
Posts: 1,408
THOR #3610
Contrary to what should happen I did have the GFCI in the bath area that still worked but everything downstream on the load side did not. Pulled the plug out & the wire on the load side had arced in to due to wires not securely in place on the El cheapo plug so nothing else was working other than that plug.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Sold our '13 Thor Redwood 36 FB
Currently RV & truckless
Replacement undetermined
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 03:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 2,110
THOR #12751
... and there have been plenty of stories about poor wiring practices and quality causing issues like arcing, intermittent power, breaker trips and worse. So that being said.... anything is possible on these coaches.
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 05:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,421
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinkyjoe View Post
Is it possible for the GFI outlet to have power and not allow the other outlets to work?
No. unless it is just a loose connection in the circuit.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2