Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2020, 11:37 PM   #1
Member
 
BillT's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37TB
State: Connecticut
Posts: 90
THOR #3785
Help - Furnace Blowing Cold Air

Hi All!

Itís been a while and I hope youíre all doing well. Weíre leaving for Florida tomorrow and itís going to be way below freezing. My furnace is blowing cold air. It rumbles and then stops periodically, and Iím not sure sure what to do. The propane is on, and everything else seems to be working OK. It seems to be trying to start. Any ideas anyone?

Bill
__________________

__________________
__________________________________
Bill Tozzo
New Fairfield, CT
2016 Challenger 37TB
BillT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 11:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 25.2 Axis
State: Tennessee
Posts: 442
THOR #3471
Light all eyes on your stove and let them burn 3 minutes. If thatís ok try your furnace again. Does it light at all or is just the fan running make sure thermostat is set correctly
__________________

__________________
Hugh.vines@att.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 02:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 254
THOR #8139
This is pretty common problem, usually corrosion on the circuit board.
Here are a couple of threads that should help.

https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f8...29m-19332.html
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f8/furnace-20629.html
__________________
abjbrtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 09:36 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 648
THOR #15553
Not a DIY repair. Circuit board access and testing requires removal of the furnace and a special circuit board tester.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 12:32 PM   #5
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 3,787
THOR #7035
Haven't seen an Atwood furnace yet that requires removal in order to replace the circuit board. Plenty of people have replaced their furnace circuit board themselves after determining it was faulty by simply following the established troubleshooting procedure.

Dinosaur makes a great replacement circuit board.

There are some furnace installations that do do have the outside access door, just the exhaust vents through the wall - and those WOULD require furnace removal for board replacement.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 12:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 29fe
State: Florida
Posts: 584
THOR #4656
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Not a DIY repair. Circuit board access and testing requires removal of the furnace and a special circuit board tester.
Not so. It's very easy to replace the circuit board. Furnace does not need to be removed. Access panel on the outside is removed. Board unplugs. New board plugs in. There are led's on the board which will indicate the status of the board.

But, before you do anything, remove the access panel and blow dry the board with a hair dryer. My guess is condensation on the board.
__________________
Making a smooth transition to senility for over 70 years

2017 Freedom Elite 29fe
2015 Jeep Wrangler Toad
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 01:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 648
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosticks View Post
Not so. It's very easy to replace the circuit board. Furnace does not need to be removed. Access panel on the outside is removed. Board unplugs. New board plugs in. There are led's on the board which will indicate the status of the board.

But, before you do anything, remove the access panel and blow dry the board with a hair dryer. My guess is condensation on the board.
I guess you have never seen a Suburban SF-30 heater. Very common heater. I have owned 2 of them. No exterior access. Intake and exhaust vents only. Requires inside removal. No DIY testing procedures. You need a a work bench. A gas supply. A 12 volt power supply. And aboard tester.

Click image for larger version

Name:	suburban RVheater sf30 fq..jpg
Views:	19
Size:	16.8 KB
ID:	22552
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 07:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 254
THOR #8139
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
I guess you have never seen a Suburban SF-30 heater. Very common heater. I have owned 2 of them. No exterior access. Intake and exhaust vents only. Requires inside removal. No DIY testing procedures. You need a a work bench. A gas supply. A 12 volt power supply. And aboard tester.

Attachment 22552
Several yrs ago a friend had one in a cougar 5th wheel. It was really easy to get out and to a repair shop. I can't remember what was wrong, didn't cost much.
__________________

__________________
abjbrtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×