Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-25-2013, 12:08 AM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
State: Georgia
THOR #288
holding tank ?

i got a 1996 thor prism 20ft , i have a holding tank that is cracked and wonder how to tell what size it is and how to get it out ?

Old 04-25-2013, 12:50 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Brand: Crossroads
State: Wisconsin
THOR #124
Which tank is it?? Are you sure it's cracked and not one of the fittings leaking?
Old 04-25-2013, 01:28 PM   #3

THOR #288
Yea it's definitely cracked , it's the front tank so I want to say its the grey tank , I just got this a couple days ago , so I'm new to campers I just wonder how hard it's gonna be to get it out ? And maybe repair it , it's a long crack bout 2 or 3 inches .
Old 04-25-2013, 02:01 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

THOR #124
Apparently you don't have a membrane covering the bottom of your rig if you can see the tank.
I don't know much about repairing one of those things, and don't know how much I would trust it if it was repaired. That is just my thinking.
As far as removing it, I would think there must be supports under it, maybe even straps? The pipes that are plumbed into the tank probably have to be cut and when it or a new tank is installed you will have to have some connecters and cement them back together.
Try Googling up RV tank removal and repair and see what you can come up with.
Old 04-25-2013, 06:15 PM   #5

THOR #288
Thanks
Old 05-02-2013, 06:37 PM   #6

Brand: Redwood
Model: 36RL
State: Missouri
THOR #75
Could be repairable using automotive store tank repair kits such as for the windshield washer tank. Be sure to check which type of plastic your tank is. There are different types of repair kits. They only cost a few bucks and are easy to use.