Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 03-24-2022, 08:08 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE
State: Virginia
THOR #19875
House Batteries - totally confused!

I’m not experienced at this, even though I have had coach since new. Original house batteries in my 2018 ACE 29.4 apparently toast. Keep coach connected to 50 amp service at home. While de-winterizing, unplugged shore power and didn’t have enough power to start generator! Used emergency start cross connect and fired up generator. Jumped on here to research which resulted in fog and confusion! OK, AGM a must/minimum, check. 100ah good (X2) to cover quiet time, check. Start looking to buy….Walmart, Amazon, auto zone, etc. Wow….overwhelmed. Size, shape…I’m not a cheapskate, but don’t need gold plating….I think. I don’t get to use my rig a lot. Only one long trip 2,000 miles round trip to date. Mostly close by (breed field and show dogs) with at least 20 amp shore power. So looking for battery recommendations for dummies.

Old 03-24-2022, 08:22 PM   #2
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
THOR #7035
Did you have your USE/STORE switch in USE while connected to SP? If not, those house batteries were not charging.
Did you check the battery water levels? If plates uncovered they're probably toast as you described. A must check maintenance item for Flooded Lead Acid (FLA) batteries.

But some don't want to be bothered with that level check. If so, go for the AGMs. For your ACE, two group 31 AGMs will fit and be the best bang for the buck. AHs may vary slightly from brand to brand but expect 100 to 120 AH per battery. Lotsa people here are satisfied with the VMAX AGMs:

Here's a pack of two 120 AH for $630, shipping included:

https://www.amazon.com/MR137-120-Bat...dp/B01MSCEGPJ/
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad