Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 09-14-2019, 12:17 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Washington
THOR #15551
Instant Water Heater in Thor Axis 24.1 2018 model

Hi all, I'm on the road and have discovered my instant water heater will produce only warm water (and then only after running water for 2 minutes or so). At one time the temp got up closer to the 124 degree setting but only in the bathroom.
I'm not an expert on these devices but if anyone has seen an operating schematic or has some suggestions for solving this problem, I would appreciate the help!!

Old 09-14-2019, 12:34 AM   #2

Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
THOR #13932
Use the hot water alone, no cold.
Open that tall narrow pull off panel next to the fuse block, across from the bathroom.
There's a valve on the bottom of the water heater, you'll see it easily with a flashlight.
Turn the valve all the way right, all the way left, and set it about center.
Set your temp at 108 or whatever you like without using any cold water.
You can experiment with valve position later.

Other people will have other ideas, but this 2 minute fix cured our 2018 24.1 hot water problem.
(no one bothers with the cold faucet. It just Jacks things up. Use hot alone when you want hot water.)
Old 09-14-2019, 12:38 AM   #3

Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
THOR #12751
You also need 40 - 50 psi of water pressure. If you are on city water and aren’t using a regulator, try turning on your water pump and see if that gives you stabile hot water.

Also..... I never use the cold water. We set ours to 105 and the water temp stays dead in when taking a shower.
Old 09-14-2019, 01:36 AM   #4

Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Virginia
THOR #11769