Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 04-18-2021, 06:24 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
THOR #23059
Angry Inverter not connecting to Shore Power

Hi everyone,

I’m new to RV’s but this really has me baffled. Less than a month ago, I took delivery on my 2021 Outlaw 38kb. So far, it’s the worst 180k I’ve ever spent. Too many failures and malfunctions to count. Awnings didn’t retract, slides didn’t work, furnace failed, cooktop was broken...and now, I am plugged into shore power, and have discovered it’s not running to the inverter. It’s trapped on battery power and as you all know, it’s draining them rather than charging them as it should. Thor’s Tech people had me running circles around the coach trying to see if that light or another was on.

Is there something I’m missing. The Axterra system shows no power coming from the shore connection OR the solar charger. What’s going on here!? Please, I need some help here...mobile repair can’t come for weeks and I can’t take it to a dealer with an awning that still won’t close. (That, is supposed to be repaired next week by a mobile service.

Old 04-18-2021, 06:59 PM   #2

Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
THOR #12751
Inverter not connecting to Shore Power

The Automatic Transfer Switch controls the AC power into the coach..... not the Inverter. The Inverter takes 12V battery power and converts it to AC for a limited number of outlets. The Inverter has a built-in ATS but typically its only wired to a limited number of outlets like the refrigerator so it still has power when you don’t have shore power or generator power.