Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 10-29-2019, 09:32 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34J
State: Washington
THOR #14595
Leaping Leaking Lippert

I noticed the area around my Lippert pump and reservoir were damp and couldn't figure out where the fluid was coming from. I ended up watching the unit do it's thing while extending and retracting the leveling jacks. At the end of each cycle a small amount of fluid was surging out of the reservoir from under the cap.

I checked that the cap was tight but it still happened. Since I'm still pretty new to this I didn't realize just how much fluid had leaked out over the summer, the level is about 1.5" below the fill cap.

Has anyone seen this? I called Lippert and they suggested I get a new cap which sort of irritates me given the fact that I've never touched this.

Old 10-29-2019, 11:20 PM   #2

Model: Aria 3901
State: Idaho
THOR #9660
Is there enough fluid in your reservoir now to fully extend your jacks? I believe that the cap is also a breather and will leak if over filled like ours was from the factory. After leaking the first several times using the jacks and upsetting me because I had to clean it up, our jacks have worked perfectly. There is still fluid in the tank when fully extended, and no more mess to clean up.
Mike
Old 10-30-2019, 02:40 PM   #3

THOR #14595
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1noel View Post
Is there enough fluid in your reservoir now to fully extend your jacks? I believe that the cap is also a breather and will leak if over filled like ours was from the factory. After leaking the first several times using the jacks and upsetting me because I had to clean it up, our jacks have worked perfectly. There is still fluid in the tank when fully extended, and no more mess to clean up.
Mike