Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Closed Thread

Old 09-13-2020, 09:25 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Quebec
THOR #15335
My 30 amps sparks when plugged in

Hello Forum Members,
I Drive a 2018 24 HL Four Winds and when I plug the power line in a 30 amps or a 15 amps socket it sparks even if the main power switch is off. This cause a little damage to my plug (arching burns small marks in the plug) . I'm not an expert but I do not believe this is normal. I would appreciate some insight on this. Thanks.

Old 09-13-2020, 09:30 PM   #2

Model: Forest River Forester 235
State: Indiana
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by cladouce View Post
Hello Forum Members,

I Drive a 2018 24 HL Four Winds and when I plug the power line in a 30 amps or a 15 amps socket it sparks even if the main power switch is off. This cause a little damage to my plug (arching burns small marks in the plug) . I'm not an expert but I do not believe this is normal. I would appreciate some insight on this. Thanks.

You should always turn the pedestal breaker off before you plug in and then flip it back on to prevent that very thing.
Old 09-13-2020, 09:33 PM   #3

THOR #15335
So it's normal that it sparks if there is power in the pedestal
Old 09-13-2020, 09:38 PM   #4

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Renegade Valencia 38RB
State: California
THOR #3156
Quote:
I'd say its not normal. Check the voltage at the pedestal to make sure its ok
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
Old 09-13-2020, 09:38 PM   #5
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
THOR #7035
Quote:
Yes, as soon as connection is made load is drawn by things in your RV like the converter, fridge, or any other AC load that may be on.
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad