Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 08-24-2022, 02:16 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 25.5
State: Oklahoma
THOR #14018
Onan RV QG 4000 Generator

Going to go for broke and see if anyone can help me figure out why my generator (with only 22 hrs) has decided not to start. Have always had a hard time starting and sometimes had to open cover and flip the governor linkage to get it started. Now it will not start at all. Immediately kicks off like it going to start but dies. I am an aircraft tech by trade so believe me I have gone through all the basics (Fuel, ignition, air, etc). If I hold the starter button down it tries to run a little but very low RPM and dies off.
I have pulled carb and looked over (was clean as new) - blew out all orifices,etc.
I was almost sure it was going to be in the PC Board and Tried new PC Board which changed nothing at all.
Even sprayed a little starter fluid in carb inlet - no change.
Checked fuel solenoid, fuel pump, all good.
I can hold starter button and jockey the governor wide open and closed and the generator will putt putt for about 5 secs and then dies.
I have no fault codes/flashes.
Have no hair left trying to figure this one out. (even tried the "Expert" help on JustAnswer) - I knew more about it than the tech.
Any ideas would be welcome.

Old 08-24-2022, 02:39 AM   #2

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Sunstar 29VE Winnebago
State: Texas
THOR #13058
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdpinokc View Post