Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-22-2015, 01:23 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Four Winds 31E
State: Louisiana
THOR #3298
Only use 1 house battery?

Hello I am new to rv's and have a 2015 four winds 31e. I posted on another thread that one of my 2 batteries are boiling. My question is will my coach run on just one of the batteries without damaging anything?

I am still under warranty and will have the bad battery replaced but the dealer is quite far and I have a trip to go on in the mean time. I am a little familiar with golf cart batteries and series and parallel wiring.

I guess I could see if they are wired in parallel and if so it should be ok to run with just one battery. In which case i will just have less capacity which is no problem since I generally run off of shore power.

Thanks

Old 12-22-2015, 02:50 PM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
Correct: If its two 12V batteries in parallel then you can safely run with one.

If, however, its two 6V batteries in series then you are out of luck.
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 02:52 PM   #3

Model: Tiffin Open Road 32SA
State: Colorado
THOR #1147
Assuming you are talking two house batteries they will (should) be wired in parallel providing 12 volts to the coach. The fact that only one battery boils is somewhat troublesome. I could be because of a defective battery, but it could also be an issue in the charge circuit.

You might want to do a thorough check of the charge circuit lest you wind up sacrificing another battery.

Regards,

Randy
Old 12-22-2015, 03:21 PM   #4

Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Texas
THOR #1879
Only use 1 house battery?