Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2018, 06:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 2
THOR #11920
Outlets not working

Hello. After a trip to dump our black water, half of our outlets into longer worked. We reset the breaker as well as the fuses. No change . We were told that some Thors have 2 GCIF outlets . We can only find one , but it will not work . The red light on it works , but the outlet will not . Any advice ? Thank you !

__________________
Mitros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 06:41 PM   #2
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 20,595
THOR #8860
It will probably help if you tell us what year and model rig you have...

...And welcome aboard!
__________________
"What is good? To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentations of their widows."
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 06:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip 500's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 24F
State: Arizona
Posts: 250
THOR #2878
Welcome to the forum. Usually there will be a gfi outlet in the kitchen area and one in the bathroom. Anywhere there might be water.
__________________
Skip 500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 07:02 PM   #4
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 20,595
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip 500 View Post
...Anywhere there might be water.
"You can lead them to water"...

...But you still have to re-set them manually!
__________________
"What is good? To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentations of their widows."
Good Sam Member 843599689
Current coach: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 07:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 1,131
THOR #1249
Are you on shore power or gen? If one works ok and other does not, it is most likely your transfer switch. Then I suppose if there is a complete failure of the TS, you may not have any power. Although, I think the TS fails in one of the positions.
If you have checked that all breakers and GFI's are ok, you will have to track it down. Mine power failed without warning and I tracked it down to the outside shore power receptacle wires were loose.
__________________
2015 Thor Vegas 24.1 in Ocala
mcr1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 01:31 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 2
THOR #11920
Thank you . We have a Thor 2017 Windsport .
__________________
Mitros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 07:23 PM   #7
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitros View Post
Hello. After a trip to dump our black water, half of our outlets into longer worked. We reset the breaker as well as the fuses. No change . We were told that some Thors have 2 GCIF outlets . We can only find one , but it will not work . The red light on it works , but the outlet will not . Any advice ? Thank you !

My experience - a red light on GFCI means 'tripped'... (My sticks/bricks kitchen has that variety...) Those with a light indicating 'on' have been green... (Recent Lowes purchase used in garage shop has that variety.)


The GFCI outlet will protect all 'downstream' outlets as well - so one bad/tripped GFCI in an RV will take out multiple outlets in the bathroom, kitchen, and outside. Most Windsports will only have one GFCI from factory protecting those locations - and typically in the bathroom.


If it won't reset - try replacing it.
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 09:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.3
State: Texas
Posts: 147
THOR #10883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitros View Post
Hello. After a trip to dump our black water, half of our outlets into longer worked. We reset the breaker as well as the fuses. No change . We were told that some Thors have 2 GCIF outlets . We can only find one , but it will not work . The red light on it works , but the outlet will not . Any advice ? Thank you !
2018 ACE 30.3. Mine did this too, gfci in bath comnects to other outlets inside and to the one outside. Got rid of it, replaced it with a regular outlet, all works fine.
__________________
Mace with 2018 Thor ACE 30.3
MaceMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 09:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 2,543
THOR #4735
If it has a red indicator light, then it has power, but something is causing it to continuously trip where you cannot reset it.
__________________
the Turners...
two Campers, two Electric cars
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 11:43 PM   #10
gmc
Senior Member
 
gmc's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 32A
State: Florida
Posts: 1,871
THOR #2829
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaceMan View Post
2018 ACE 30.3. Mine did this too, gfci in bath comnects to other outlets inside and to the one outside. Got rid of it, replaced it with a regular outlet, all works fine.
Not what I would recommend... There are good reasons for the GFCI to be there - protecting you and your family/guests is at the top of the list.


They do fail - but are easily replaced. If a new one continues to trip, then there is a problem that needs to be fixed to avoid shock potential. Often a wet outlet in that case - the outdoor one being the prime candidate. Or a bad appliance plugged in.
__________________
Greg
Not yet retired...
Florida (Michigan transplant)
2014 Hurricane 32A
2000 Infinity (previous)
gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 05:28 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37KT
State: Indiana
Posts: 10
THOR #8714
I found I could not reset the GFCI outlet with my fat finger. The only way to fully push the reset button was with some kind of thinner digit... in my case, a ballpoint pen.
__________________
Roger, Sherrill, and Harley (Great Dane)
2016 Thor Challenger 37KT
Foxflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 01:24 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
Posts: 3
THOR #23059
I’m experiencing this problem now. 2021 Thor Outlaw 38kb - this model’s GFCI outlets don’t have lights - on in the rear works fine, kitchen outlet is dead. Reset the breaker, (it wasn’t tripped tho) and checked fuses. All seems ok. Thoughts?
__________________
IndianRiderRadioRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 01:25 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Colorado
Posts: 3
THOR #23059
Outlet is just plain dead. Weird.
__________________
IndianRiderRadioRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 02:23 PM   #14
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 6,436
THOR #7035
GFCI outlets have their own reset, it's not in the breaker panel, it's on the GFCI control outlet at the beginning of the chain:



Generally, there is one of these control outlets in the bathroom. Many MHs have two GFCI control outlets.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 02:32 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,815
THOR #6826
Might just be a bad outlet. RVs generally have the cheapest version of everything and outlets do fail. Iíve had a couple of them fail on my sticks and bricks home built in 2018. You can buy a standard duplex outlet at the big box store for a buck and a quarter - usually from a bin - or you can spend $4 for a brand name outlet. Thereís a reason for the price difference. Itís even more pronounced for GFCI outlets. I bought a 2 pack for $15 and one was DOA. Anyway, check for voltage at the back of the outlet and if you need a new one get a good one.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 03:56 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Travelin' Texans's Avatar
 
Brand: Redwood
State: Texas
Posts: 1,410
THOR #3610
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaceMan View Post
2018 ACE 30.3. Mine did this too, gfci in bath comnects to other outlets inside and to the one outside. Got rid of it, replaced it with a regular outlet, all works fine.
Not a good idea! If replacing it you need to do so with another, probably much better quality than original, GFCI plug. DO NOT bypass the GFCI or risk someone being hurt.
Also just FYI. The fuses in the breaker panel are for 12 volt items only & will do nothing for the GFCI circuits, those 120 volt circuits will be the circuit breakers like in your home, turn them completely off then back on if needed, most times they will look good til you do this.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Sold our '13 Thor Redwood 36 FB
Currently RV & truckless
Replacement undetermined
Travelin' Texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2