Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2021, 04:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
Outlets Not working

on travel and we have hurricane 34J . Our Kitchen outlets, Outlets under the Kitchen table not working. We reset the GFCI and that outlet works, We turned off the Breaker and it's on.. any other things to look at?

__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 05:14 PM   #2
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 9,792
THOR #7035
Did you check BOTH GFCI outlets? Most MHs have two.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 05:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 2,164
THOR #6903
As Ace noted, almost always two

It is important to be sure to check all breakers and reset any that could go to outlets by flipping them off and on

If you have a load management system do you have something like a fireplace or washer kicking the others off?
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 05:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
2nd GFI, not sure where that is. Humm!
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 05:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
No Fireplace or washer. All other outlets work, lights are on. Just these outlets. Frustrating and always since its probably something stupid, just can't find the right switch
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 05:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 2,164
THOR #6903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwild View Post
2nd GFI, not sure where that is. Humm!
2cd bath if you have one, kitchen / galley area

Basement
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 06:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
only 1 bath. 1 gfi breaker that I'm aware of. the gfi outlet works. We have a hurricane 34j and not aware of 2nd outlet. We had more than we probably should have plugged in. frustrating
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 06:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 2,164
THOR #6903
Someone on another thread found a loose wire on the GFCI feed the string
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 06:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
I will check but I know we has too many things plugged in so I don't know if a wire would come loose
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 06:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 33.1
State: Nevada
Posts: 251
THOR #21278
Just like to add another question about outlet not working.... are there any other outlets that are on the SAME line as the one under the seat in the dinette area? (mine is ACE 33.1). All of my outlets are working, EXCEPT for that one under the seat.
__________________
ador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 07:00 PM   #11
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
Total - about 3-4 outlets all those on the same gfic and
all do not work..everything else is rv appears to work fine
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 08:19 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Winnebago Travato 59G
State: Alabama
Posts: 4,520
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwild View Post
Total - about 3-4 outlets all those on the same gfic and

all do not work..everything else is rv appears to work fine


If you’ve traced all of the non working outlets to being downstream of the GFCI that you’ve identified and if that outlet works after resetting its a near certainty that there is a loose wire at the GFCI. Either that or a fault in the GFCI outlet. They do tend to use cheap Chinese outlets so if all else fails you could try replacing it with a high quality one from a home center. Be careful if you are not familiar with working with electrical circuits and, of course unplug before you start. Good luck.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 10:33 PM   #13
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
Ok will try to replace the GFI in AM as a starting point. Thank you
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 12:50 PM   #14
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 32.2
State: Texas
Posts: 44
THOR #14520
Outdoor Plugs May Be GFCI

If you have any outdoor plugs, those are likely GFCI’s also.
__________________
Raeburn2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 01:38 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,422
THOR #15553
Are you talking about GFI outlet or GFI breaker? Two different things.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 02:52 PM   #16
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
Replaces gfi outlet and no luck. Had a little power as coffee light flickered on , but then nothing . Breaker controlling the outlet works. Confused what else it can be .
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 04:05 PM   #17
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 9,792
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwild View Post
Replaces gfi outlet and no luck. Had a little power as coffee light flickered on , but then nothing . Breaker controlling the outlet works. Confused what else it can be .
Loose connection to the outlet(s). I assume since the GFCI outlet was replaced that is not the problem there. I assume the GFCI outlet is working?

If so, time to pull each of the downstream outlets and check the wire connections. RV manufacturers use cheap "pinch and cut insulation" type connectors as they are easy and quick to install, but are susceptible to losing connection in a moving vehicle.

Going down to your bigbox hardware store and buying a 10 pack of their cheapest duplex outlets would be a big upgrade.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 04:56 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Citation
State: Texas
Posts: 905
THOR #8139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raeburn2000 View Post
If you have any outdoor plugs, those are likely GFCI’s also.
Good place to do some checking, our outside outlet was in bad shape, it was really disappointing when it wasn't the source of our trouble
Found it in a junction box under the floor of the sink cabinet
When you put the wire nut on those 3 white wires and tape it, but don't twist the wire nut AT ALL.
__________________
abjbrtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 08:53 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Winnebago Travato 59G
State: Alabama
Posts: 4,520
THOR #6826
Well if the problem wasn’t at the GFCI outlet but the downstream outlets are still not working find the first outlet in the chain after the GFCI and check it for a loose wire or, as mentioned above simply replace it with a decent “regular” outlet. If the chain is bad the front link has to be the problem.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:39 PM   #20
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 37
THOR #10196
The first outlet in the kitchen basically is like a mini junction box and has three connectors there going out. This could be a bad outlet but will have to try and find a new one. Not sure local box store will have these
__________________
Mwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2