Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-29-2023, 02:05 AM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 32N
State: Arizona
THOR #23246
Replacing a hydraulic jack. Pressure?

I have been having a problem with jacks down msg for quite some time. I believe it is related to a slight loss of pressure to a leak while jacks are in the retract position. Inspection reveals a dirty oil film on one jack pad and the same around a fitting and top of jack. It could be hose, could be the jack, but either way I have to crack the system to fix. (my luck is it's the jack, so I am studying up on how to replace it)

It appears from the literature that the retract hose has 2k or so psi when in the retract position. I can't find anything about the extend side pressure.

My question is this: How does one go about relieving the system pressures before opening the hose fittings to remove the jack?

Old 04-29-2023, 09:04 AM   #2

Model: Omni XG32 GONE for good
State: Alabama
THOR #22586
In my opinion you need to google/search for the installation manual for the leveling system you have and follow that advice. Relying on social media and forums could get you hurt.
2012 PT Crusader 355BHQ
chunker21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2023, 11:39 AM   #3

State: Missouri
THOR #6903
Several threads here on the pressure sensor failure and hydraulic leveling systems

Download the appropriate manual from Lippert or OEM

Threads on IRV2 also on troubleshooting

No external leaks?

Any jack lowered when getting the error?

It can be an interal o-ring leaking

As noted, proceed safely using documented precautions
Old 04-29-2023, 04:03 PM   #4

Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by CactusJuice View Post