Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2021, 02:49 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria
State: Georgia
Posts: 9
THOR #22203
Temp Sensor Error

We own a 2019 Thor Aria. Not able to get the furnace to come on and it's pretty cold where we are. On Climate Control Box it is giving us a Temp Sensor Error message. Any suggestions of what may be going on or how to reset it? Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Climate Control Panel.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	123.4 KB
ID:	28590  

__________________
kmc58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 03:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Down South's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E 27.2
State: Louisiana
Posts: 236
THOR #17883
Looks like you have a bad temp sensor or a bad connection from the sensor.
__________________
2017 Thor ACE 27.2
Down South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 04:28 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Citation
State: Texas
Posts: 905
THOR #8139
Greetings and Welcome

Do you hear the igniter clicking? Try disconnecting the control board in the heater for a few minutes and reconnecting.

Do you have other heat sourceS, ceramic, quartz etc?
Someone with more suggestions should be along shortly.
__________________
abjbrtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 12:47 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria
State: Georgia
Posts: 9
THOR #22203
Thank you!

Thank you for your reply.

Purchased this RV in November so we are still in shakedown mode! No problem when we were in VA with it this past December but in TN now and this happens!

Hopefully we can figure out what's going on today.

I am new to this forum but familiar with the Keystone forum. Everyone is so helpful! Thanks again ....
__________________
kmc58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 12:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 35.3
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 171
THOR #20808
That looks like a loose wire on the sensor somewhere. See pic, there is one of these for the front and one for the back, look under the upper cabinets toward the middle or rear.

Should have two wires behind it. If you have an ohmmeter and can get to the contacts on the back, the circuit should measure about 10K ohm give or take with temp.

The two wires run through the unit (always the long way and always in a conduit) back to your control box. In the back of the control box you should see labels on the lid, this should tell you which wires to look for.
I had one just after I picked up it up new where the temp sensor was a bit intermittent, found a pitched wire in the cabinet right behind the sensor where the wire was. As soon as I pulled it out it looked like somebody bent it bad and then installed it anyhow. Soldered a bit, works great.

Worked until it cleared the curbs on the dealer's lot.

Good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0530.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	146.2 KB
ID:	28596  
__________________
pneumatics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 01:37 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria
State: Georgia
Posts: 9
THOR #22203
Quote:
Originally Posted by pneumatics View Post

Worked until it cleared the curbs on the dealer's lot.

Good luck.
Yes, I'm beginning to believe this!!

Thank you!
__________________
kmc58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 02:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Tuscany 40DX
State: Colorado
Posts: 118
THOR #5043
Temp sensor

On my 2015 Tuscany that is quite similar to your Aria the same sensor in the photo was never connected? Wires were just hanging loos in the wall. Another problem is the crimp connector that joins the wires. Several of mine were not touching bare wire so an open. Do other zones work OK?
__________________
camperguy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 02:44 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria
State: Georgia
Posts: 9
THOR #22203
Thank you!

We have about come to the conclusion that it must be a loose wire or a bad sensor. We had a local RV repair company to look at it, but with them not being familiar with the unit we have decided to wait and return home to our dealer, for ANOTHER service call! Have had it in the shop more than we have had it on trips!! Our 1st Thor and probably our last!

I appreciate all of your replies!
__________________
kmc58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 03:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Down South's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E 27.2
State: Louisiana
Posts: 236
THOR #17883
I would at least take the sensor from the wall and check the wiring before I took it to a service department.
It may be nothing more than a bad connection at the sensor. If the connection looks good, I'd swap the front and rear sensors to see if the problem follows the sensor.
__________________
2017 Thor ACE 27.2
Down South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 01:37 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria
State: Georgia
Posts: 9
THOR #22203
Thank you!

Thank you. We will check the wiring.
__________________
kmc58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2