Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 12-15-2015, 08:25 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
THOR #3212
Thor Battery and Fridge problems

I'm a newbie so maybe I'm doing something wrong. I've been camping on two occasions for app. 3 days each. I disconnected the house batteries on my 2015 Thor Hurricane 32N using the "use/store" switch in the unit and we ran electricity off the campground supply. We also played the radio at various times. When we left the coach wouldn't crank and we had to jump the unit. This occurred both times.

Also, when the unit has been parked for roughly two weeks the refrigerator will not run on propane. It runs for a couple of minutes, then something clicks at the front of the coach and the refrigerator shuts off. The propane is working as the stove lights. The refrigerator is clean and turning the propane and/or the refrigerator off and on doesn't help. The dealer has checked the house batteries and says they are fine.

Any suggestions on these issues? Thanks!!

Old 12-16-2015, 12:22 AM   #2

Model: Palazzo
State: Texas
THOR #2072
eV2 hit that right on the head. Leave the in use switch on even if you are plugged into a pedestal. Converter will change 110 volts to 12 VDC and charge batteries.
FMCA F451520 - Texas Boomers
Daveht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 02:16 AM   #3

Model: Windsport 27K
State: Kentucky
THOR #2817
I noticed that lights flicker when the use switch is off and the RV is plugged into shore power. I assumed that the filtering effects of the batteries was not taking place, and I also assumed that using 12-volt devices (lights, water pump, refrigerator, etc.) would put a strain on the converter without being connected to the batteries. Maybe someone can straighten me out about this situation.