Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-24-2022, 09:37 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: North Carolina
THOR #27773
Thor freedom elite 26 ac compressor not coming on

THOR FREEDOM ELITE 26 AC COMPRESSOR NOT COMING ON

Hi I am new to to the forum, we just bought this 2017 Freedom Elite with only 4k miles, the a/c was working fine one day in the driveway with the generator.

Then next day tried to plug the RV into a wall socket with a 110 extension cord with an adapter on the RV cord, and the AC did not work.

Then the next day tried it again with the generator running and a/c was ice cold worked all day

Now today I cant get the compressor to turn on either on generator or a/c power from the extension cord.

It is a coleman mack a/c roof unit. we are leaving on a trip tomorrow and I am a little freaking out. I have checked the breakers and none are thrown
thank you!!

Old 08-24-2022, 10:27 PM   #2

Model: Chateau 24F
State: Ohio
THOR #16721
You don't have enough power (amperage) from the outlet. The AC unit needs at least 20amps to safely start, then reduces power consumption somewhat.

Also note that it's NOT a good idea trying to run such high amperage devices using a typical household extension cord.

If at home, you're going to need at minimum a 20amp rated outlet using an appropriate rated, relatively short, extension cord. ALL the wiring between the motorhome and service box breaker MUST be rated for minimum 20amps.
Old 08-25-2022, 01:45 PM   #3

THOR #27773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chateau_Nomad View Post
You don't have enough power (amperage) from the outlet. The AC unit needs at least 20amps to safely start, then reduces power consumption somewhat.