Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-20-2015, 09:21 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2013 Chateau 28Z
State: Arizona
THOR #3071
Truck vs RV Tires

I am a newbie to the RV world, so please forgive me if I sound rather stupid! LOL

I don't like the way the RV "sways" or "wanders" around on the road. Have read many threads on doing the alignment, check correct tire pressure, add sway bars, rear trac bar, shocks, etc.

I just had the RV aligned at a local truck shop. He informed me that the alignment is fine, but the tires are feathering and squishy. Yes, he said squishy! He suggested that I purchase "Semi" truck tires not "RV" tires.

Not sure which way to go. This is a Ford E450 chassis. There are "adequate" shocks, bushings, sway bars, etc. on rig.

Not sure if you can help, suggest, or if anyone needs more information.

Thank you in advance.

Old 10-20-2015, 09:27 PM   #2
Site Team

Brand: Crossroads
Model: CF32BL
State: Mississippi
THOR #121
what does it say on the side walls P or LT Or ????
The wonder Schnauzers
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 09:34 PM   #3

THOR #3071
On the pic i have, the tires are michelin load range E. the RV is still at the truck shop. Specs are useless.
Old 10-20-2015, 10:43 PM   #4
Site Team

Brand: Crossroads
Model: CF32BL
State: Mississippi
THOR #121
They should have a letter in front of the numbers, that is what I need. The second part of the question is what tire pressure are you running to low will give you that feeling
The wonder Schnauzers
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 10:54 PM   #5
Site Team

Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Dakota
THOR #1469