Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2018, 11:32 AM   #21
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,837
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdconnors View Post
Love the idea of adding the AC meter. If I want to put that at my main monitor panel where do I tap in?
The best place to measure "short power" and generator output would be right at the back of the breaker panel on the input wires.

__________________
2022 Thor Axis 24.4
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 12:59 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 3,756
THOR #6411
If you install a Progressive EMS HW-30C, you will have an amp meter on the remote display.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 04:02 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 27.7
State: California
Posts: 289
THOR #10907
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post
The best place to measure "short power" and generator output would be right at the back of the breaker panel on the input wires.
("shore power"?)

Exactly. That's the advantage to using a hall effect amp pickup, you can easily put it anywhere. The sense wires from the pickup are small and pretty long too so you can put the display where you want. I did have to extend the wires in my Vegas though since the breaker box was on the other side of the coach. Not a big deal. Just make sure you're in a spot that will show both shore power current and generator current.
__________________
Check out my V8 swap roadster video, don't forget to turn up the sound!...

httphttps://youtu.be/2q9BuzNRc3Q
gmtech16450yz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 04:19 PM   #24
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,837
THOR #1150
LOL yeah grew up boating so "shore power"
__________________
2022 Thor Axis 24.4
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 04:21 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 27.7
State: California
Posts: 289
THOR #10907
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieGeek View Post
LOL yeah grew up boating so "shore power"
Oh no, shore power is fine, it was the typo that threw me. haha. I was like "what's short power?"
__________________
Check out my V8 swap roadster video, don't forget to turn up the sound!...

httphttps://youtu.be/2q9BuzNRc3Q
gmtech16450yz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 04:26 PM   #26
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,837
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmtech16450yz View Post
Oh no, shore power is fine, it was the typo that threw me. haha. I was like "what's short power?"
LOL Didn't even notice the typo...read right over it (hmm something could be said for not seeing your own mistakes!).
__________________
2022 Thor Axis 24.4
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 06:06 PM   #27
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 35MQ
State: Florida
Posts: 45
THOR #12430
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmtech16450yz View Post
("shore power"?)

Exactly. That's the advantage to using a hall effect amp pickup, you can easily put it anywhere. The sense wires from the pickup are small and pretty long too so you can put the display where you want. I did have to extend the wires in my Vegas though since the breaker box was on the other side of the coach. Not a big deal. Just make sure you're in a spot that will show both shore power current and generator current.

Would you mind sharing some photos of your install if you have them?
__________________
wdconnors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 06:53 PM   #28
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 5
THOR #13017
You can install an easy start box ($300) on each AC and it will run both ACs with a smaller genny

https://youtu.be/p2K0ptvYb6Q
__________________
Lugo2214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 09:12 PM   #29
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
Posts: 9,837
THOR #1150
That EasyStart is rather interesting.
__________________
2022 Thor Axis 24.4
2021 Mach-E
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 10:02 PM   #30
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 5
THOR #13017
Got it installed
I run my 15k btu AC with a Honda 2000 or house 115v 15 amp since it cancels out the compressor big power draw
__________________
Lugo2214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 12:16 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
State: Alaska
Posts: 295
THOR #8813
You have to worry about start up current draw.. No way you can start them up at same time. Some people run a separate power cord to pedestal (110/20).




Quote:
Originally Posted by wdconnors View Post
I have a 30 foot Freedom Elite 29FE with a Coleman Mach 3 13.5k AC unit. After exhausting all options to keep heat out, I've decided the coach has to have a second AC unit to keep cool in Florida.


The coach doesn't have an energy management system or similar so I'm thinking about buying two of the Coleman Mach 3 13.5k Power Saver units and replacing my current unit while adding the second unit in the rear.


Coleman specs these at 10 amps and 1,000 watts on high cool. At those numbers I could still be around 50% generator load. I do a lot of multi-day generator only parking during football season so the generator being able to run both is a must.


Am I wrong in thinking the Onan 4000 and any 30 amp campground service could handle running both of these without issue? I don't really use my microwave and I'd run the water heater on propane. All lights in the coach are LED, etc..
__________________
carlgorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 01:06 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 27K
State: Kentucky
Posts: 877
THOR #2817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beau388 View Post
Several more things to consider: ambient temperature and altitude. The Onans are rated at 500 ft ASL and 75 F degrees. Both factors reduce the generator's output considerably (3.5% per 1,000 ft altitude and 1% per 10 degrees)....
I believe I saw a carburetor adjustment for altitude compensation on my 4,000 watt Onan generator. Would that allow it to produce more power at higher elevations?
__________________
Metalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 01:41 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
State: Texas
Posts: 6,064
THOR #2121
At very high elevations the ambient temperature is often cooler, so you may be able to get by with one A/C. Thatís been our experience traveling through the Rockies. Thatís not to say you may not need to adjust the carburetor anyway, just that you may not need enough power for both A/Cs at same time.

Regardless, with thinner air at higher elevations, non-turbo engines can lose about 3.5~4 % power for each 10,000 feet. If camping on North Rim of Grand Canyon at 8,000 feet, as an example, it becomes significant.
__________________
Chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 04:33 AM   #34
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 35MQ
State: Florida
Posts: 45
THOR #12430
Iíve purchased a 13.5k power saver model to replace the rear vent.

I want to be able to run this second unit off the generator as well as via an external plug when I have shore power.

Whatís my best option for accomplishing this flexibility?
__________________
wdconnors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 11:09 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Georgia
Posts: 2,585
THOR #4735
if you wire it into a typical weather rated 15amp 3-prong male extension cord, you can use either an outside outlet, such as the GFCI plug at the power pedestal, or when on Generator you could plug it into one of your coach’s own internal outlets, since your main AC is probably already on it’s own circuit.
__________________
the Turners...
two Campers, two Electric cars
former diesel pusher traveler
TurnerFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 06:47 PM   #36
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 35MQ
State: Florida
Posts: 45
THOR #12430
I'll be adding a new 20 amp breaker for the 2nd AC so maybe I'll try and run that to a storage bin as an outlet and then run the AC power to the same spot so I can plug into the coach power or extend to a pedestal. I think someone else on the forum did something similar.
__________________
wdconnors is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2