Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login

Old 04-16-2015, 08:30 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
THOR #1478
Winnebago issues and some advice

We are planing to purchase a Winnebago Forza 34T in the near future. My wife loves the floor plan of this coach. I decided to start doing some homework on the quality of their coaches. I am not sure how I feel after reading the following thread Winnebago Tour problems? - iRV2 Forums

My current coach "A Thor Axis" uses the Schwintek system and I have not had any problems "knock on wood". However, the Axis has a small slide out, the Forza has a large slid out. I am starting to wonder if I should just steer clear of the Schwintek system altogether. I am new at this and the Axis is my first motorhome. Some of the wait times I read about owners being without the coach they have just spent a ton of money on makes me want to re-thing this whole lifestyle. I have no plans of ever being a full timer but I due like the idea of traveling around and vacationing in my own house.

I know I should be posting this on a Winnebago site and I will. However, it seems that Winnebago is having some of the same issues that Thor is having.

Old 04-16-2015, 08:36 PM   #2
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast

Model: Axis 24.4
State: Michigan
THOR #1150
They all have quality issues. Motorhomes, travel trailers, 5th wheels, Thor, Forest River, etc. it is common throughout the industry.

Every time you buy a brand new RV you take a roll of the dice. I'd like to think the odds are still in your favor but you never know (e.g. only one out of every 10-20 RVs has the really bad quality issues--contrast that with the auto industry where they measure "things gone wrong per 1000 vehicles" and its a fractional value like 0.3).