Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Towing | Hitches and Toads
Click Here to Login

Old 07-16-2020, 06:56 PM   #21

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 24HE Freedom Elite
State: California
THOR #19344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
I'm sorry: I should have specified that I I was speaking only about brakes and braking systems.
Most of the States (At least the ones with lawmakers that can actually write an effective law ...); treat a Toad exactly as they treat a trailer.
If it's hooked-up to you, and your pulling it: there's no difference.

To be fair: I am NOT a Lawyer.
But I do sell insurance. I've seen the accident reports... You don't want to get pushed into a situation that is going to hurt you or your Family.
I do appreciate the replies. I've really only looked up CA law but I always check laws before I travel somewhere. CA doesnt require brakes on TOADs.

The accident report is the kind of stuff I was curious about. A couple of the websites I found had pictures of RV accidents with TOADs, but the caption under the pics all said "not caused by lack of braking system." I know lack of a braking system is but used as a PCF on accident reports but I could see it being in the narrative as an additional factor.

I think that anytime you are towing you should be giving enough room and time to stop without having to rely in additional braking. As I'm sure you well know, 99% of accidents are completely avoidable. I bet most of the accidents while towing were either due to speed or following too closely. While a braking system will help with those, so will slowing down and leaving more room.

Old 07-16-2020, 07:01 PM   #22

THOR #19344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete'sMH View Post