Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class C and Super C Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-19-2022, 08:08 PM   #1

Brand: Jayco
State: New York
THOR #27721
"Thor" Kodiak Chateau 36A - Info

Hello,

New to the forum and looking for some guidance/advice. My wife and I have been camping with our young family for 6 years, with a TT. We have 3 young kids >8 yrs old, and have started looking at RV's to make the longer trips easier on everyone.

On the top of our list right now are Class C's, but the limited towing capacity has me slightly worried. I want to easily be able to tow my pickup, ~5500 pounds, or a trailer with boat, SxS, toys etc., all of which will test (or exceed) the towing capacity of most Class C's w/ gas. So, I've really started to look at Super C's as they seem to offer more of our camping/traveling/hauling style than a class A. Plus, price seems a bit better.

We've recently started looking at a "Thor" Four Winds Kodiak Chateau 36A. The layout is spot on with bunks and it has the Duramax, which I like for increased towing. We really cant find a whole lot of info on this model. I see some info stating the GCWR is only 26000# and others where is 30000#, that is a big difference if the rig weigh in around 22000#, as it limits or capacity.

So, here I am. Can anyone shed any light on pro's cons, of this model or something similar to this chassis. It seems to me that this chassis/model was offered by a few different brands, seemingly with different stickers. Is the 36 model on a different platform than its slightly smaller siblings?

Is the 6.6 Duramax enough motor for the job?

I would greatly appreciate any info, good or bad, as we continue our search.

Thank you!

Old 08-19-2022, 10:52 PM   #2

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF