Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2020, 06:50 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 8
THOR #20236
LCI Levelers

I own a 2017 Thor Ace 30.3. Needed to retract auto levelers to do road trip prep but they would not retract. No sound that pump/motor was engaging. Seeing error lights on panel, i reset but still they would not retract. I notice too the generator also will not start up. Checked 15amp fuse on leveler pump - looks fine.

Want to add the RV has been on levelers for a few months (but never had this problem before); and just replaced both 12volt house batteries.

Any insights will be greatly appreciated!

__________________
jkc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 06:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 3,327
THOR #12751
It sounds like your 100A Bussman breaker has tripped. It is located near the house batteries or in the house battery bay. It controls power to the Levelers and to start the generator and will look something like this.....

My guess is you accidentally shorted out a cable when you were replacing the batteries and it tripped or you bumped the "test" button.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bussman.JPG
Views:	45
Size:	84.3 KB
ID:	25775  
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 06:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 29h outlaw
State: New Jersey
Posts: 462
THOR #5248
Look to make sure you connected all the positive leads back up to the batteries.
Then check the circuit breakers located near the batteries are not tripped.
__________________
Trkyte@msn.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:11 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 8
THOR #20236
On my class athe bussman has a blue button; the yellow flag is down/showing. D o ijust flip the yellow flag up, press the blue button?
__________________
jkc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 3,327
THOR #12751
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkc306 View Post
On my class athe bussman has a blue button; the yellow flag is down/showing. D o ijust flip the yellow flag up, press the blue button?

You need to flip the yellow flag up. When it is showing, the breaker is tripped. That would be your problem.

If you press the button, it will open the breaker (flag showing).
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 2,164
THOR #6903
Great advice so far

Curious as to the 15 amp fuse, exactly which one is that?

Hopefully you are up and ready to travel
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 23U
State: North Carolina
Posts: 104
THOR #18547
Hi,
Do all Thors have the Bussman breaker?

I have looked around and under my Chateau but can find it.

My Chateau is on the E 450 chassis.

Thank you.
James
__________________
James G.
2017 Thor Chateau 23U
Ford E450
Charlotte, NC
JGallagher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 08:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 3,327
THOR #12751
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGallagher View Post
Hi,
Do all Thors have the Bussman breaker?

I have looked around and under my Chateau but can find it.

My Chateau is on the E 450 chassis.

Thank you.
James

Depends on your coach's configuration. If you don't have levelers or a generator, you won't have the 100A. There can be a 30A breaker for other 12V electronics.

I had a 2018 Outlaw 29H on the E450 and I had three Bussman breakers. They were mounted to the outside of the battery box so I could not get to them unless I laid on my back and looked up under the steps.
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 08:42 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 8
THOR #20236
YES!!!

Two buss trips, flicked the yellow tab into the up position. Started Thor and levelers retracted, lowered and retracted. Generator started right up. Everything is a go. Just need to reconfigure our road trip beings were a day late starting. Thank you everyone for your help. I am slowly becoming a better RV'r!!
__________________
jkc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 09:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 3,488
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkc306 View Post
YES!!!

Two buss trips, flicked the yellow tab into the up position. Started Thor and levelers retracted, lowered and retracted. Generator started right up. Everything is a go. Just need to reconfigure our road trip beings were a day late starting. Thank you everyone for your help. I am slowly becoming a better RV'r!!
That circuit breaker protects the 6 ga cable going to the jack's electric pump and the generator's starter motor. If you have an factory installed inverter, there will be another one just like it (maybe with a higher amp rating) for the cable going to the inverter.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 09:37 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 8
THOR #20236
Yes we have a factory installed inverter. Thanks for the info - will check the buss too!
__________________
jkc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 10:28 PM   #12
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2016 class c 31w
State: California
Posts: 52
THOR #9093
did you find that breaker if not you can look under the step area on the frame o batt box mine was on the frame between batt box
__________________
cmills1334 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 12:47 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
Posts: 8
THOR #20236
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmills1334 View Post
did you find that breaker if not you can look under the step area on the frame o batt box mine was on the frame between batt box
**Sorry for taking so long to reply. With help of a house/chassis battery schematic from Thor I was able to locate all buss fuses. The one in question is under our master bed where the fuses and inverter is - all ok! Thank you all for your help!
__________________
jkc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2